Major Financial Announcement For Tipperary Town Primary Schools

Pictured outside the offices of the Department of Education, Dublin, are Ms Catriona Farrell (Deputy Principal of ‘The Monastery’ CBS, Tipperary); Ms Siobhan Verdon (St Michael’s Junior Boys NS, Tipperary); Ind. Dáil Deputy Mr Michael Lowry (TD); Ms Ide Mooney (St Michael’s Girl’s NS Tipperary); Ms Louise Tobin (St. Joseph’s Primary School, Tipperary) and Mr Eoghan Breathnach (Gaelscoile Thibraid Arann).

Yesterday was indeed a significant day in the long running campaign seeking additional resources for five Tipperary primary schools. However, a package of support measures has now been agreed, same to be implemented at the beginning of the upcoming September term.

In a statement today Deputy Michael Lowry stated that he was delighted that his representations over the past number of months, on behalf of the above named schools, has now finally resulted in a most positive outcome.

Deputy Lowry stated, “I wish to complement the management and staff of the schools for their perseverance, tenacity and their commitment to the educational needs of their pupils”.

The newly negotiated support program is an interim package and Mr Lowry is confident that the data supplied by the schools boards, will substantiate the schools inclusion in the next round of the DEIS (Delivering Equality of Opportunity in Schools) system.

This revised DEIS programme will be selected and announced during November 2019, for implementation in September 2020.

“I am delighted that these prolonged exchanges and discussions between the schools and the Department of Education have reached a satisfactory outcome”, concluded Mr Lowry, “and I wish to thank in particular the Minister for Education Mr Joe McHugh for his personal interest in facilitating discussions with senior officials in his department”.


1 comment to Major Financial Announcement For Tipperary Town Primary Schools

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




fourteen − ten =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.