Fianna Fáil To Select Replacement Councillor

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil (F/F) are expected to select a replacement Co. Councillor to the Templemore / Thurles Municipal district, following the recent election to Dáil Éireann of former F/F Councillor Mr Jackie Cahill.

Fianna Fáil members from the Templemore / Thurles Municipal District are expected to vote for their preferred nominee between 2:00pm and 4:00pm this afternoon, at a ‘Selection Convention’ which is being held in The Ragg, Booladuff, Thurles. Under the Local Government Act once 14 days have passed, the position must be filled by the next Co. Council meeting, which in this case takes place tomorrow in Cloughjordan, Co. Tipperary.

Three names have been put forward for consideration, one of which will now fill this vacant post at local authority level. Instead of the normal co-option procedure associated with such vacancies, it is understood that grass roots members have requested that a convention take place, since 3 candidates have shown an interest in occupying this vacant seat. The three candidates are understood to include; Mr Pat Hayes (Arch Bar, Thurles); Mr Gerard Fogarty (Trainee Solicitor, Parnell Street, Thurles); and Mr Sean Ryan (Teacher, Littleton Village, Thurles). A fourth nominee, named as Mr Mark McLoughlin (Teacher, Roscrea.) is understood to have withdrawn his name from the list of candidates going forward.

The successful candidate chosen will then be officially co-opted unto Tipperary Co. Council at tomorrow’s meeting in Cloughjordan.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




10 − 9 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.