Brendan Cummins Wins Seventh Poc Fada Title

Brendan Cummins, Tipperary  Picture credit: Paul Mohan / SPORTSFILE

Brendan Cummins, Tipperary.
Picture credit: Paul Mohan (Sportsfile)

Tipperary senior hurler Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange Club, Ardfinnan) has won his seventh Poc Fada title after a truly magnificent performance at Annaverna Mountain, Ravensdale, Cooley in Co Louth yesterday.

In this achievement the veteran Tipperary goalkeeper equalled the record of seven victories, previously held by Cork’s 1986 Texaco Hurler of the Year, Ger Cunningham (St. Finbarr’s club).

Cummins, who currently works as a bank official with the Allied Irish Bank based in Cahir, has won two All-Ireland medals, five Munster medals, three National League medals and five All-Star awards.

In 2011 he became the most capped player in the history of the championship when he surpassed Christy Ring’s fifty-year record of sixty-five championship appearances.

Also competing for this All-Ireland title yesterday were James Skehill (Galway goalkeeper), Eoin Reilly (Laois goalkeeper), Stevie Brenner (former Waterford goalkeeper) retired Donal Óg Cusack (Cork goalkeeper and current Chairman of the Gaelic Players Association) and Colm Callanan (Galway goalkeeper).

Patricia Jackman of Waterford won her fifth title in a row in the Camogie section while Jack Coyne from Galway was the under 16 winner.


2 comments to Brendan Cummins Wins Seventh Poc Fada Title

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




ten − 8 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.