Tipperary Minors Get A Hero’s Welcome


Thurles Sarsfields reps Conor Lanigan, Ronan Maher & Stephen Cahill – Photo Courtesy J.O’Loughlin.

The Co Tipperary All Ireland minor hurling team returned home to a hero’s welcome in Thurles, Co Tipperary, (European Town of Sport 2012) on Monday evening last, proudly bearing the Irish Press Cup for the 19th time.

As is the custom, the victorious team were welcomed by several thousand supporters, firstly outside the Cathedral of the Assumption, where they were met by His Grace Archbishop Dr Demot Clifford, and later paraded with pride in front of a large gathering of faithful followers.

It was Tipperary’s first MHC All Ireland win since 2007, thanks to the scoring accuracy of M. McCarthy & T. Gallagher 1-02 each, J. McGrath 0-10, S. Maher 0-02, S. Cahill & B. Maher with 0-01 each

The occasion was also a special event for their manager William Maher, Ballingarry, himself in his own right a former winner as player and who had set about preparing this team so expertly for their second chance at this title, in just a few weeks.

Congratulations to all involved.


1 comment to Tipperary Minors Get A Hero’s Welcome

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




nine − 8 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.