Tipperary Association Honour Sheedy & Walsh

L. Sheedy & Bishop W. Walsh

Friday 29th April will see the Tipperary Association honour Liam Sheedy as Tipperary Person of the Year at their annual dinner in Dublin.

The award is richly deserved and is a very fitting acknowledgement of his huge contribution to Tipperary’s All Ireland senior hurling championship success in 2010.

Rugby star Alan Quinlan was named Tipperary Person of the Year in 2010, and comedian Pat Shortt was honoured the previous year, in 2009.

In 2008, Liam Sheedy led the Premier County side to National League and Munster titles in his very first season in charge, taking over in September 2007. In 2009, Tipperary regained the Munster title while narrowly loosing out to Kilkenny in one of the greatest All-Ireland finals of modern times.

After a bad start to his 2010 campaign, and suffering a heavy lost to Cork in the opening round of the Munster Championship, Tipperary regrouped and eventually defended against Kilkenny, to capture their first Liam McCarthy Cup since 2001.

The All-Ireland winning Bainisteoir and Portroe clubman, later stepped down as the manager of the Tipperary senior hurling side last October, citing work commitments as the reason for his departure.

Our congratulations must also go to Bishop Willie Walsh, now retired Bishop of Killaloe and native of Roscrea, who has been chosen to receive the coveted Tipperary Association’s Hall of Fame award.

The awards will be presented at the Tipperary Association’s Annual Dinner at the Regency Hotel, Dublin on Friday, April 29th.



Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




fifteen − six =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.