Local Weather

Failure notice from provider:
Connection Error:http_request_failed


Kilkenny’s Reign Ended By Underdogs Tipperary

Residents of St Columba Terrace

Any doubts raised in recent weeks as to where is the Home of Hurling, were answered this afternoon as Tipperary clearly denied Kilkenny an unprecedented fifth All-Ireland Hurling title in a row, with a truly inspirational performance.

Kilkenny were not helped by Henry Shefflin’s 12th minute departure from the pitch after his seemingly miracle cure from his cruciate ligament injury just proved a bridge to far.

Kilkenny were kept starved of scoring opportunities for much of the game and Richie Power was left carrying most of the burden, scoring mainly from frees, but still managing to keep Kilkenny in  touch.

Tipperary built on their narrow one point lead after the break with goals from Lar Corbett and then Noel  McGrath and even goalkeeper Brendan Cummins pitched in with a long puck to score a point and add to Kilkenny’s problems .

Eoghan Kelly made his usual outstanding contribution with 7 frees delivered with pin-point accuracy, as fans have come to expect.

Benny Dunne and Seamus Hennessy took full advantage of ocasional signs of desperation and distraction by Kilkenny and two superb points from substitute Seamus Callanan proved Tipperary had plenty in reserve if needed.

Tipperary and Kilkenny have met 20 times previously in this championship with Tipperary winning 12 times, Kilkenny 8 times and no draws. Kilkenny have beaten Tipperary twice in a final, way back in 1967 and of course last year. But for Tipperary in 2010 and in the 123rd All-Ireland Hurling title it is Corbett and Kelly whom history will recall with a special pride.

One group of Thurles residents living at St. Columba Terrace, Bohernanave, will be especially pleased with the final result, having bathed their terrace in a sea of blue and gold, setting an example for the rest of Thurles Town.

Final Score: Tipperary 4-17.     Kilkenny 1-18.

Tipperary: B Cummins (0-1, f); P Stapleton, P Curran, M Cahill; D Fanning, C O’Mahony, Padraic Maher; B Maher (0-2), S McGrath; G Ryan (0-1), Patrick Maher; J O’Brien (0-2); N McGrath (1-0), E Kelly (0-7, 7f), L Corbett (3-0). Subs: C O’Brien for O’Mahony, S Callanan (0-2) for O’Brien, B Dunne (0-1) for S McGrath, S Hennessy (0-1) for B Maher.


2 comments to Kilkenny’s Reign Ended By Underdogs Tipperary

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




eight + 1 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.