Tipp Minors Are All Ireland Champions After Epic Tussle With Cats.

Tipperary are the Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Champions after a pulsating contest with neighbours Kilkenny. A Billy O’Brien goal four minutes from the end of Extra Time sealed an improbable win after Tipperary had been reduced to 13 men, just before the 20 minute mark.

Team Captain Cathal O’Reilly (Holycross-Ballycahill) flanked by his teammates.
Pic: G. Willoughby.

The Tipperary management team composed themselves at half time, helped by a fortuitous Eoghan Doughan goal straight from a 65 just before the break, and hatched one of the all-time defiant Tipperary hurling performances. The performance of these brave 13 youngsters blended the tough defending, associated with previous Tipperary teams of the 1950s and 1960s, and the attacking style and panache of more recent Tipperary teams.

It would be unfair to single out any one player after this brilliant team performance, so would like to give huge praise to all our local players, and the time, energy, and coaching invested in them by their families, local GAA clubs and schools – players representing Durlas Og, Holycross Ballycahill GAA, Moycarkey Borris GAA, Thurles CBS and Coláiste Mhuire Co-Ed (and previously Scoil Ailbhe, Gaelscoil Bhríde, St Michaels NS Holycross primary schools).

Despite the unseasonal cold, a massive crowd await the arrival home of the victorious Tipp Minors unto the steps of Thurles Cathedral, just before midnight last night.
Pic: G. Willoughby.

The honour of Captaining the team, and the recipient of the Irish Press Cup from Uachtarán Cumann Lúthchleas Gael, Jarlath Burns, was Cathal O’Reilly (Holycross-Ballycahill GAA) who provided towering leadership from the heart of the defence to this special group of players.

On a day when our Senior Camogie team also had a victory over Kilkenny in the All Ireland, the performance of these young players has lifted the morale of the Tipperary hurling public and points to some green shoots ahead.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




17 + 17 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.