Holycross, Co. Tipperary – Drama Festival Results 2024.

The ever popular Co. Tipperary, Holycross Drama Festival, (under the administration of Director Mr Donal M. Duggan and his experienced committee), now in its fortieth year, saw participating groups playing nightly to packed houses, of loyal drama fans and not surprisingly, many new faces, all attracted by the talent performing in this year’s week-long festival.

This year’s adjudicator was Mr Michael Poynor, (A.D.A), who hails from Derry, and holds an impressive curriculum vitae, including Artistic Director for the Lyric Theatre, Belfast; Harrogate Theatre, Yorkshire; Stage ’80 Theatre company, Belfast; Ulster Youth Theatre; The National Youth Theatre Of Wales; and currently Artistic Director at the Ulster Theatre Company. Chief Executive of the Millenium Forum, Derry, and Head of Culture and Arts at Queens University, in Belfast; Mr Poynor is an award winning Director and Lighting Designer having directed over 150 productions; designed ‘Sets’ for 120 and ‘Lighting’ for over 250, as well as ‘Fight Directing’ for some 100 productions.

Final Results.

Pic. L-R: Adjudicator Michael Poynor, (A.D.A), and Holycross Drama Festival Director Donal M. Duggan.

Overall Competition:

Hannifin Cup: (Awarded to ‘Most Entertaining Play’)“The Ferryman” – Ballyduff Drama Croup, Waterford (D.G.).
Gallagher Award: (Awarded to ‘Most Promising Actor/Actress’) – Shane Foley ”The Ferryman”, – Ballyduff Waterford D.G.
Dr. Morris Memorial Cup: (Awarded to the ‘Best Tipperary Group’) – Brian Friel’s “Dancing at Lughnasa”, – Holycross/Ballycahill, D.G.

Josie Slattery Award: (Awarded to ‘Overall Best Set’) – Joanne Bannon ”Stolen Child”, Moyne, Thurles, D.G.

Best Lighting: – Conor McGowan, “The Ferryman“, Ballyduff, Waterford, D.G.

Best Sound: – Emily Aherne & Liam Walsh “Antigone” Bride-view, D.G.

Adjudicator Awards:

1st Adjudicator Award: – The Wild Dance ”Dancing at Lughnassa”, Holycross /Ballycahill, D.G.
2nd Adjudicator Award: – Trio of Young Sisters, “The Ferryman”, Ballyduff, Waterford, D.G.

Confined Competition:

Joe Boyle Award for Best Actor: – Ken murphy as Mick Tracey in ”Stolen child” Moyne, Thurles D.G.
The Maudie Bourke Award for Best Actress: – Geraldine Delaney as Angela in “Stolen Child”, Moyne, Thurles D.G.
Best Supporting Actor: – Norman skillen as Mooney/Mr.Mullen in “Same Old Moon”, Sliabh Aughty, D.G.

3rd“On Rafferty’s Hill”, – Wayside D.G.
2nd “Now and Then”, – Harvest Moon D.G.
1st Tipperary Star Cup“Stolen Child”, – Moyne, Thurles D.G.
Best Producer: Joanne Bannon – Moyne, Thurles D.G.

Open Competition:

Best Actor (Matthew Bourke Trophy): – John Stack as Quinn Carney in “The Ferryman” Ballyduff, Waterford, D.G.
Best Actress: – Grainne Kenny as Caitlin Carney in “The Ferryman”, Ballyduff, Waterford, D.G.
Best Supporting Actor: – James Lenane as Teiresias in “Antigone”, Bride-view D.G.

Best Supporting Actress : – Mary Colbert as Aunt Patricia Faraway in “The Ferryman”, Ballyduff
3rd“Dancing at Lughnasa” – Holycross/Ballycahill D.G.
2nd “The Lonesome West” – Kilmeen D.G.
1st – Tipp FMm Radio Trophy: – “The Ferryman”, Ballyduff, Waterford, D.G.

Best Producer: – (Frank Gleeson Award) – Ger Canning, Ballyduff, Waterford, D.G.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




eleven + 13 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.