Cork Take Four Point Win Over Tipperary

The reigning Provincial and All-Ireland Hurling Champions Tipperary were dethroned by Cork this afternoon, with the latter gaining their first championship win in Thurles since 2006.

Cork began well, taking 3 points in the first 4 minutes, courtesy of Conor Lehane, Luke Meade and Seamus Harnedy, but Tipperary by the 7th minute were even, with points from Noel McGrath, Brendan Maher and and Sean Curran.

A point by Cork’s Alan Cadogan is answered by Tipperary’s Michael Breen and so for the first 35 minutes spectators witnessed a superb exhibition of point-taking, with both teams levelling the match for an incredible 12 times. Half-time score Tipperary 0-15pts –  Cork 0-15pts.

At the beginning of the second-half Conor Lehane put Cork back in front with his fifth point of the match, quickly answered by Tipperary’s Dan McCormack. Cork’s Pat Horgan gets a point, followed in the 43 minute by the first goal of the game from Cork’s Shane Kingston. Tipperary’s John O’Dwyer (Bubbles) grabed a point back following a foul. Score now stands Tipperary 0-17pts – Cork 1-17 (20pts)

Points continue to be traded, coming from Cork’s Mark Ellis, Conor Lehane, Pat Horgan and Shane Kingston; all being answered by Tipperary’s Noel McGrath, Michael Breen and Seamus Callanan.

Then in the 56 minute Tipperary take the lead, as Callanan switches play to target John McGrath, positioned on the edge of the square. The Loughmore / Casteliney man did not fail; rifling the sliotar into the top corner of Cork’s net. Score going into the 57th minute Tipperary 1-22 (25pts)Cork 1-21 (24pts).

Cork’s Conor Lehane now equalises and with just over 10 minutes to go fellow team mate Shane Kingston puts the Rebels once more in the lead.

Points follow from Tipperary’s Niall O’Meara and Brendan Maher, answered by Cork’s Conor Lehane leaving the score at the 67th minute, Tipperary 1-24 (27pts)Cork 1-24 (27pts).

A further point from Cork and then disaster; the sliotar bounces to a waiting Cork substitute, Michael Cahalane, and he buries it easily past the Tipperary goal keeper Darren Gleeson. Despite four minutes of additional playing time and an intrepid and audacious Tipperary team, the full-time final scoreboard read Tipperary 1-26 (29pts) –  Cork 2-27 (33pts).

Despite Corks 4 point win; surely today’s game must go down on record as one of the closest Munster championship ever contested in recent memory.

Tipperary Team: Darren Gleeson; Cathal Barrett; James Barry; John O’Keeffe; Seamus Kennedy; Ronan Maher; Padraic Maher (Capt); Brendan Maher; Michael Breen; Dan McCormack; Sean Curran; Noel McGrath; John O’Dwyer; Seamus Callanan, and John McGrath.

Tipperary Substitions: Niall O’Meara for Sean Curran; Joe O’Dwyer for Seamus Kennedy and Alan Flynn for injured Cathal Barrett.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




fourteen − 5 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.