Local Weather

Partly cloudy
real feel: -1°C
wind speed: 5 m/s NE
sunrise: 8:25 am
sunset: 4:18 pm


Tipp Woman On Commission For Future Of Policing in Ireland

Membership of the Review Commission on the Future of Policing in Ireland unveiled.

The Cabinet have approved a 12 member Review Commission to undertake a ‘root and branch’ review of an Garda Síochána.

In announcing the Commission, An Tánaiste and Minister for Justice and Equality Mrs Frances Fitzgerald has stated that along with a final report; this new Commission will also introduce and hasten immediate recommendations, which it justifiably feels requires to be implemented within the immediate or short term.

Ms Noeline Blackwell.

The new 12 member review body will include former Tipperary Solicitor Ms Noeline Blackwell; herself a human rights lawyer who is currently Chief Executive of the Dublin Rape Crisis Centre, and was formerly the Director General of the Free Legal Advice Centre (FLAC).

Ms Blackwell began her career as a solicitor here in Co.Tipperary in the mid 1970’s at the age of 21,  gaining a wide range of legal experience under then employer Mr Kieran Flynn, for some 8 years, before moving to Dublin to set up in practice in the 1980’s.

Named Membership of Review Commission
Along with Ms Blackwell, the new Commission will be Chaired by Ms Kathleen O’Toole, (Seattle Police Chief), and other membership will include Mr Conor Brady (Former Editor of the Irish Times, Sunday Tribune and a previous member of the Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission from 2005 to 2011); Dr Johnny Connolly (Irish Research Council Enterprise Scholar at the Centre for Crime, Justice and Victim Studies at the School of Law in the University of Limerick); Dr Vicky Conway (Current Lecturer in criminal law and criminology in the School of Law and Governance in DCU); Mr Tim Dalton (Retired Secretary General of the Department of Justice and Equality); Sir Peter Fahy (Chief Constable of Cheshire and previous Chief Constable of Greater Manchester Police with 13,000 staff under his command); Dr Eddie Molloy (Independent Management Consultant, Director Advanced Organisation, specialising in Strategy, Organisation Change and Innovation); Ms Tonita Murray (International Police Development Consultant); Dr Antonio M. Oftelie (Executive Director, Leadership for a Networked World and Fellow, Technology and Entrepreneurship Center at Harvard); Professor Donncha O’Connell (Established Professor of Law at the School of Law, NUI Galway), and finally Ms Helen Ryan (Former Chief Executive Officer of Creganna-Tactx Medical from 2005 – 2013).


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




four × 1 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.