Tipperary Crowned Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Champions 2016

It was to be an all Blue and Gold day for Co. Tipperary as their Minor Hurling Team raised the curtain in Croke Park, Dublin, this afternoon.

Tipperary Minor Hurling Team
Tipperary won their 20th All-Ireland title with a seven-point win over Limerick; with Colin English declared ‘man-of-the-match’.

hurlingA Jake Morris early second-half goal set Tipperary on their way against a Limerick crew who showed little improvement from their initial Munster final showing.

While Limerick did appeared to show early fight; by half time the score board read Limerick 0-08 – Tipperary 0-09, with points coming from the Premier County’s Lyndon Fairbrother, Jake Morris, Colin English, Brian McGrath (brother of senior stars Noel and John) and Shane Neville.

Points from Limerick were delivered courtesy of Brian Ryan, Conor Boylan and Michael O’Grady.

The second half Jake Morris added goal and a further point saw Tipperary increase their tally, before Limerick’s Kyle Hayes and Ciaran O’Connor answered with points for Limerick, taking them to within a goal of their opponents.

A now improved Tipperary side saw points from Mark Kehoe, Dylan Walsh, Lyndon Fairbrother and Ger Browne; including two in stoppage time, ensured Liam Cahill’s Tipperary team were crowned Electric Ireland All-Ireland minor hurling champions 2016, with a full-time score of Tipperary 1-21 – Limerick 0-17.

Tipperary Minor Team: C. Barrett; K. O’Dwyer; M. Whelan; T. Murphy; C. Flanagan; B. McGrath;  J. Cahill; P. Cadell; G. Browne; R. Doody; J. Morris; C. English; C. Darcy; M. Kehoe and L. Fairbrother.

Subs: S. Neville for R. Doody, G. Dunne for T. Murphy, D. Walsh for C. Darcy, D. Quirke for C. Flanagan and C. Stakelum for G. Browne.

Congratulations to Tipperary Minors on their well deserved victory.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




nine − 9 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.