Tipperary To Face Kilkenny In All Ireland Senior Hurling Final

Full-Time in All-Ireland SHC semi-final: Tipperary 2-19 (25pts) – (Galway 2-18 (24pts).

HurlingIn a titanic clash between Galway and Tipperary today in Dublin’s Croke Park; while in front of some 54,000 spectators, Tipperary won with a 1 point margin, to face Kilkenny once again in September’s All Ireland Hurling final.

First Half.
In the first minute Joe Canning slotted over the first point for Galway, in an over shoulder movement. Same was quickly answered by points from Tipperary’s Noel McGrath and Michael Breen and in turn answered again by Galway’s Conor Whelan.
Following a super build up from Galway;  Conor Cooney then rifled the first goal of the game into the back of the net. However two minutes later Tipp’s Seamus Callanan and Michael Breen had both replied, leaving the scoreboard, after the first 10 minutes, reading Galway 1-02 (5pts) to Tipperary’s 0-04

Points from Galway’s Cooney, Canning, Manion and Tipperary’s Callanan and Noel McGrath, saw the sides equal again by the 23rd minute with Galway 1-06 (9pts) to Tipperary 0-09.  Further points from Galway’s David Burke, Joe Cooney, and Canning together with Tipp’s Seamus Callanan see the half-time tally with Tipperary shading the score line with two points in arrears; Galway 1-10 (13pts) – to Tipperary’s 0-11.

Second Half .
Following a hamstring injury, alas ‘Tribesman’ Joe Canning was unable to take part in the second half and by the 40th minute Tipperary’s Callanan and Forde points had cancelled the Premier Counties indebtedness, with Galway 1-11 (14pts) to Tipperary’s 0-14.

Tipperary took the lead briefly following a point from a free by Callanan, however same was short lived with a goal (3 pts) courtesy of Galway’s Joseph Cooney, in the 44th minute; score Galway 2-12 (18 pts) – Tipperary 0-15.

With 23 minutes of ordinary time left to play, Tipperary now introduce John O’Dwyer from the bench, into full forward line.

Points from determined Tipperary’s Callanan, Ronan Maher, Padraic Maher and Noel McGrath and an equally determined Galway’s Conor Cooey, Harte, and Smith combine to cancel Tipperary’s efforts and by the 60th minute, Galway remain 2pts ahead; Galway 2-15 (21 pts) to Tipperary’s 0-19.

With this 2 point lead by Galway, Tipperary’s John O’Dwyer rides out all the challenges to rifle home that longed-awaited first goal for the Premier County, which arrived in the 62 minute. Galway replied with a 30 metre free to score another point, but two minutes later, in the 64th minute, yet another goal is added to Tipperary’s tally;  Tipperary 2-19 (25 pts) – Galway 2-16 (22 pts).

With Tipperary 3 points in the lead, Galway are not vanquished yet, but with 2 points from Conor Cooney and Shane Maloney and despite 2 minutes of extra time added on, Tipperary held on to their lead, to claim the day.

Tipperary Senior Team: D. Gleeson; C. Barrett; J. Barry; M. Cahill; S. Kennedy; R. Maher; P. Maher; M. Breen; D. McCormack; B. Maher; N. McGrath; J. McGrath; S. Callanan and N. O’Meara.

Subs: J. O’Dwyer for N. O’Meara, J. Forde for N. McGrath, S. Curran for M. Breen and  T. Hamill for S. Kennedy.

Tipperary Minor Hurling Team

All in all a bad day for Galway hurlers with Tipperary’s All-Ireland Minors also winning their hurling championship semi-final this afternoon against the ‘Tribesmen’, with a score of Tipperary 7-12 (33 pts) to Galway’s 2-12 (18pts), thus gaining revenge for last year’s final defeat against Galway, as they romped home with a 15-point win to earn themselves a place in the minor final against Limerick on September 4th next.

Tipperary Minor Team: C. Barrett; K O’Dwyer; M. Whelan; G. Dunne; C.Flanagan, B. McGrath; J. Cahill; P. Cadell; G. Browne; R. Doody; J. Morris; C. English; L. Fairbrother; M. Kehoe and C. Darcy.

Subs: D. Walsh for C. English, S. Neville for J. Morris, D. Ryan for G. Dunne, C. Stakelum for L. Fairbrother and J. Kelly for M. Whelan.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




3 + 20 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.