Fianna Fáil Add Ambrose & Smith To Tipp General Election Contest

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil

Following a meeting of Fianna Fáil’s National Constituencies Committee last night, the party have decided to included M/s Siobhán Ambrose and Mr Michael Smith (jnr) on the ticket for the forthcoming General Election, latter expected late this year or in the spring of 2016.

Both candidates had previously lost out to Councillor Jackie Cahill at the Tipperary selection convention, held at the end of May last, in the Anner Hotel, Thurles.

M/s Ambrose, a previous General Election candidate, is based in Clonmel in the south of the county, while Mr Smith is based in Nenagh, in the north of the county.

However in this upcoming General Election the new single constituency of Tipperary will return just five instead of six Dail Deputies; replacing the previous two x 3-seater constituency riding’s of North Tipperary and South Tipperary.

Given the size of this constituency and the now required 30% gender quota introduced for the first time, it was always a foregone conclusion that two extra names would be added to the ticket.

Presently Fianna Fáil have no TD’s in Co. Tipperary, although the present Tipperary South Independent Dáil Éireann representative, Deputy Mattie McGrath did defect from the Fianna Fáil party, prior to the last general election.

All nominated Tipperary Fianna Fáil candidates believe they can now reclaim two lost seats in this newest constituency.


1 comment to Fianna Fáil Add Ambrose & Smith To Tipp General Election Contest

  • Katie.

    George: Who was the bright spark came up with “Eircode.” Surely it would look and sound better if it was ‘Eirecode.’ Now I know why some of our mail has gone astray. Shocked to read that 35% of addresses in Ireland still share their address with at least one other property. I am proud to have my Irish registration on my car. ‘EIRE’, come on you politicians stand up and fly the Irish flag with pride. We do here on the Gold Coast at every opportunity.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




three × 4 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.