Support Thurles Fairtrade Fortnight 2015

Tipperary County Council Chairperson, Mr Michael Fitzgerald, endorses Fairtrade Fortnight.

Tipperary County Council Chairperson, Mr Michael Fitzgerald has today endorsed “Fairtrade Forthnight” which begins on February 23rd and runs until March 8th 2015.

In his declaration Mr Fitzgerald states:-
“As an Cathaoirleach (Chairperson) of Tipperary County Council, it gives me great pleasure to support and endorse the concept of Fair Trade and I would encourage the population of Co Tipperary to please renew and continue their support for Fairtrade, particularly during the two weeks from February 23rd to March 8th, (2015) designated “Fairtrade Fortnight” and to ask all retail outlets to stock Fairtrade products.


Cathaoirleach of Tipperary County Council, Michael Fitzgerald, (Centre), with members of Thurles Fairtrade Town Committee, (From Left), Kitty Scally, David O’Gorman (Student LIT Global Development Group), Mary Larkin, Gerard O’Hara, Noel Kennedy, Evelyn Nevin, and Nancy Tynan.

By switching to ‘Fairtrade’ products for their regular shopping, involving items such as Teas, Coffee, Bananas, Cotton Goods etc., Tipperary people will make a real difference to small producers in other developing countries.

The Tipperary towns of Thurles, Carrick-on-Suir, Cashel, Nenagh, Roscrea  and Tipperary have all achieved Fair Trade Status. Thurles and other Tipperary towns have worked hard in the past to achieve this status and I would urge all other areas to please get involved in this very important and worthwhile venture.”

Signed: Michael Fitzgerald (Cathaoirleach, Tipperary County Council).

Please do support all Thurles FAIRTRADE FORTNIGHT initiatives, details of which will be announced closer to the event by Mr Martin Kennedy, member of the Thurles Fairtrade Town Committee.

[Note: The FAIRTRADE Mark is the independent guarantee that products, carrying that ‘Mark,’ have been produced according to Internationally agreed Fairtrade standards.]


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




one × one =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.