Thurles CBS Attain Harty Cup Victory

cbsIn Group 1 of the Harty Cup, Thurles CBS gleaned a strong victory with their impressive nine point win over holders Ardscoil Rís at MacDonagh Park, Nenagh on Tuesday last.

Thurles CBS acquired scores through a total of eight players, including all six of their starting forwards leaving three points separating both sides at the halfway mark.  Thurles led 2-3 (9 Pts) to 0-6 (6 Pts) at half-time and a sustained surge after the restart gained them a further 1-1 (4 Pts) which effectively sealed their final victory.

Scorers for Thurles CBS were: R. Long 1-3 (6 Pts), J. Butler 1-1 (4 Pts), M. Stakelum 1-0 (3 Pts), R. Teehan 0-3 (3 Pts), M. O’Connor 0-2 (2 Pts), N Heffernan, K Duggan & P Kennedy 0-1 (1 Pt) each.

Final Score: Thurles CBS (Tipperary) 3-12 (21 Pts) – Ardscoil Rís (Limerick) 0-12 (12 Pts).

Thurles CBS Team: W. Tierney, D. Quirke, E. Heffernan, J. Derby, C. McCullagh, J. Skehan, R. Heffernan, B. McCarthy, C. Moloney, R. Teehan, K. Duggan, N. Heffernan, J. Butler, M. Stakelum and R. Long.

Subs: M. O’Connor for M. Stakelum, P. Kennedy for C. Moloney,  B. Kelly for K. Duggan, R. Purcell for R.Long and C. Cummins for J. Derby.

Referee: Mr Tommy Ryan.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




nineteen − 11 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.