Thurles Sarsfields Lose Semi Finals Of AIB Hurling Club Championship

HurlingThe semi finals of the AIB All Ireland Hurling Club Championships pitted first time Munster champions Thurles Sarsfields against its Leinster counterparts Kilcormac/Kiloughey, under referee Colm Lyons, in O’Moore Park, Portlaoise this Saturday afternoon.

However for Thurles Sarsfields, the 2013 semi finals of this AIB All Ireland Hurling Club Championship was not to be on the cards, with a final score Kilcormac/Killoughey 1-20 (23) – Thurles Sarsfields 1-14 (17).

Kilcormac/Killoughey, on the other hand, proved deserving winners today, successfully invalidating all expected threats by Thurles Sarsfields, producing, in particular an unbelievable second-half performance & outscoring the Sarsfields by six points to just one, in the final ten minutes of play.

Ahead narrowly by just one point at half-time, [1-8 (11) to 1-7,(10)] Kilcormac/Killoughey, overall, produced a powerful tough display through their players Ciaran Slevin, who produced four points in just the final minutes, Daniel Currams, Conor Mahon, & Brian Leonard, all of whom proved relentless in their hunger for victory.

Thurles Sarsfields did fight back into contention through players Denis Maher, Bourke, & substitute Ronan Maher, all who delivered points bringing the Tipperary champions to within touching distance up until the sixtieth minute, [1-14 (17) to 1-13 (16)].  Right through the game it was Pa Bourke who continued to provide the only real constant threat from the Sarsfields side, but the sheer determination and fire of Kilcormac/Kiloughey, in particular their heroic defence and Ciaran Slevin’s accuracy from distance, which was to carry the day.

Scorers for Thurles Sarsfields: Pa Bourke 1-5, Johnny Enright 0-2, Denis Maher 0-2, with Michael Gleeson, Ronan Maher, Aidan McCormack, Richie Ruth, Michael O’Brien scoring 0-1 each.

Thurles Sarsfields Team: Paddy McCormack, Stephen Maher, Kevin O’Gorman, David Maher, David Kennedy, Padraic Maher, Michael Cahill, Michael Gleeson, Johnny Enright, Pa Bourke, Jim Corbett, Lar Corbett, Richie Ruth, Pa Bourke, Aidan McCormack.

Thurles Substitutions: Ger O’Grady for Jim Corbett, Ronan Maher for Johnny Enright & Michael O’Brien for Richie Ruth.

Our gratitude to Thurles Sarsfields, who have given us all one hell of a great year hurling-wise and we thank them all most sincerely for their efforts & now eagerly look forward to next year.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




eighteen − eleven =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.