Local Weather

Failure notice from provider:
Connection Error:http_request_failed


Thurles Sarsfields Take Dan Breen Cup For 2012

    Padraig Maher holds aloft the Dan Breen Cup.          Photo: J.O’Loughlin

The Premier County’s most successful hurling team Thurles Sarsfields defeated their neighbouring rivals and 2011 champions, Drom & Inch by three points in a riveting final at Semple Stadium, Thurles, this weekend with a full time score Thurles Sarsfields 1-21 Drom & Inch 2-15.

Sarsfields won the Tipperary senior club hurling championship to hold aloft the Dan Breen cup for the 32nd time. Drom & Inch had won the competition for the first time in their history last year, however loosing yesterday was their fourth final defeat in eight years, having lost in 2005, 2007, 2009 and now 2012.

Sarsfields must now turn their thoughts to the Munster Club Championship, one competition which has previously avoided them. They now face Limerick champions Kilmallock in an away match, on October 28th next .

Thurles  Sarsfields Team: P McCormack; S Maher, K O’Gorman, David Maher; M Cahill, P Maher;  D Kennedy; M Gleeson; J Enright ; P Bourke; L Corbett, J Corbett; M O’Brien; Denis Maher & A McCormack.
Subs: G O’Grady for J Corbett;  J Maher for O’Brien; R Ruth for Enright & J Lawlor for Denis Maher .

Drom / Inch Team: D Young; E Costello; M Butler; M Costello; E Walsh, E Buckley; L Ryan; S Delaney;  J Ryan; P Lupton; J Woodlock; S Callanan; S Butler; J Lupton & D Butler.
Subs: P Stapleton for E Costello, P Kennedy for J Lupton, J Moloney for Delaney, K Butler for P Lupton, & D Collins for Moloney .


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




3 × 1 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.