Thurles CBS Annual Awards Night 2012

The Thurles CBS Secondary School’s (Scoil na mBraithre Chriostaí Durlas) annual awards night ceremony took place last Friday evening in the James O’Donoghue Sports Hall. A wide spectrum of achievements were recognised on the night with awards for:- Full Attendance, Academic Excellence, Sport, Music, Construction and Art.

Master of Ceremonies for the evening was Mr Theo Lloyd (Senior Year Head.). Students & parents were addressed by the school’s Principal Mr Tiernan O’Donnell, who wished those undertaking examinations and who were leaving the school, the very best in their future chosen careers.

The Guest speaker for the evening was former past pupil and local entrepreneur, Mr. Kevin Cummins, who, in an impressive and inspirational speech, stressed at length the importance of self-belief, hard work and resilience, encouraging each of the students to follow their dreams and ambitions.

Also in attendance was His Grace Archbishop Dermot Clifford Ph.D.,D.D. who presented some of the prizes, together with Mr D.J. Darcy (President of TCU.) and Mr Donal Scannell (CEO TCU.).

Thurles CBS Award Winners

Athletics: Killian O Dwyer was named as overall “Athlete of the Year,” with Rory Purcell, Ronan Heffernan and Jack Corbett also picking up awards.

Basketball: Stephen Lyons was hailed “Player of the Year.”

TheRonayne,’ Junior Certificate Materials Technology Award: This award recognises the best Junior Certificate project and this year went to Jeff Dwan O’Reilly.

TheA.I.B.Construction Studies Award: This year’s award was won by student Paul Bowden.

Hurlers of the Year: Ronan Maher won the “Junior Hurler of the Year,” award, while John Meagher and Pat Ralph shared the “Senior Hurler of the Year award.” There were also awards in hurling for Bill Darcy, Conor Stakelum, Eric Fanning, Mikey Connors, Conor Lanigan, Sean Ryan and Seamus Kennedy.

Footballers of the Year: Niall Grant received the junior award, while Darragh Butler was named as “Senior Footballer of the Year.”

Art & Music: Here the awards went to Luke Ryan and Graham Maher, while Tom Bourke and Ryan Grace picked up awards for music.

Best Junior Certificate & Leaving Certificate of 2011: The award for the best Junior Certificate of 2011 was shared by John Fogarty, Peter Carragher and Paul Sammon with Tommy Grant taking the award for the best Leaving Certificate of 2011.

Willoughby Cultural Award: The George Willoughby sponsored Cultural Award was presented to Colin Dowling.

Parents’ Council Creative Writing Awards: Parents’ Council sponsored Creative Writing Awards went to Ger Mockler, Jeff Dwan O Reilly and Peter Judge.

Junior Student of the Year:  Student Jack Darby was named as “Junior Student of the Year.”

Student of the Year: The highlight of the night as usual was the “Student of the Year award” which was shared by John Meagher and Seamus Kennedy.

Altogether a most enjoyable evening & congratulations to all those who took part.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




one × 2 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.