Waterford are Munster Hurling Champions 2010

Semple Stadium Thurles

Waterford are Munster hurling champions for the first time in three years following a lively extra time victory over favourites Cork, here in Semple Stadium, Thurles tonight.

A goal from substitute Dan Shanahan proved crucial to their final result in the additional twenty minutes for Waterford. Waterford had battled hard to reverse the scoreboard following Ben O’Connor’s goal put Cork in the lead for the first time, as the momentum swung one way and then the other.

Waterford led by 8 pts to 4 pts after a poor first half from Cork who could not seem find the target, but Cork came storming back from the dressing room, at the start of the second floodlit half to take the lead, before Waterford again rallied to get the upper hand once more.

Cork now began to up their game considerably and three further points, two of them from half-time substitute Paudie O’Sullivan and one by Michael Cussen, kept them in contention.

Eoin Kelly’s free kept Waterford ahead but that was soon to be cancelled out by O’Connor finding the net with a long-range spinning ball.

Tony Browne’s free kept Waterford a point in front at the turn, but once Dan Shanahan found the Cork net, Waterford now had that necessary cushion which guaranteed them, justly, the title Munster hurling champions 2010 .

Final Score:  Cork 1-13 – Waterford 1-16


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




two × 4 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.