Tipperary Are All Ireland U21 Hurling Champions

Full Time at the Bord Gais Energy All Ireland U21 Hurling Final saw Tipperary with a score of 3-13 (22pts) with Cork’s champion Rebels trailing 1-16 (19pts).

A late onslaught by this successful Tipperary U21 team was sufficient to secure a solid victory over their old rivals, playing in the Gaelic Grounds Stadium in Limerick, this evening.

Tipperary had selected the same XV that beat Galway in the semi-final; however, history initially appeared to be repeating itself, based on the Munster decider of last month, where Cork had come out comfortable victors over Tipperary (2-23 (29pts) to 1-13 (16pts), with a determined Cork leading by two points at today’s half time whistle.

The second half witnessed a determined Tipperary inception against Cork, latter who continued, despite periods of Tipperary quality dominance, to led by one point with just two minutes remaining.

A goal by Conor Stakelum in injury time would edge Tipperary in front, leaving Cork no time to retort. The Rebels had been hot favourites at 1/5 with the bookies, while the Premier County had been viewed as the underdogs; rated just 9/2.

Tipperary Scorers: Jake Morris 1-4 (7pts); Stephen Nolan and Conor Stakelum 1-0 (3pts each); Jerome Cahill 0-3pts; Cian Darcy 0-2pts, with Colin English, Ger Browne, David Gleeson, and Paudie Feehan 0-1pt each.

Tipperary Team: Barry Hogan (Kiladangan); Eoghan Connolly (Cashel King Cormacs); Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney); Killian O’Dwyer (Killenaule); Podge Campion (Drom-Inch); Robert Byrne (Portroe); Dillon Quirke (Clonoulty-Rossmore); Stephen Nolan (Drom-Inch); Ger Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams); Colin English (Fr Sheehy’s [Captain] ); Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Paudie Feehan (Killenaule); Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg); Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) and Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs).

Tipperary Substitutions: Conor Stakelum for Paudie Feehan; David Gleeson for Cian Darcy; Craig Morgan for Killian O’Dwyer; Paddy Caddell for Podge Campion, and Lyndon Fairbrother for Colin English.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




4 × five =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.