Tipperary International Peace Award Nominations 2015


Nominees for the Tipperary International Peace Award have just been announced. Same nominees include former President Mary Robinson, Chancellor Angela Merkel, Peter Robinson, US State Secretary John Kerry, Regina & Chris Catrambone and former president of Israel, Shimon Peres.

Mr Peter Robinson, has been recognised by the Tipperary Peace Convention for his political contribution over four decades. He is hailed for his role in the formation of the coalition government at Stormont and most notably for overseeing the devolution of policing and justice powers from Westminster to Stormont in 2010.

The citation for humanitarians from Lake Charles, Louisiana, Mr Chris and Regina Catrambone, founders of the Migrant Offshore Aid Station (MOAS), reveals that they invested heavily in the purchase of a rescue boat, two drones, while hiring a 20 person crew, including doctors and paramedics. To date their operation has saved some 12,000 people stranded during dangerous migrant crossings in the Mediterranean.

Following their announcement the Tipperary Peace Convention have stated that the winner will be announced in the coming days and the eventual award would be presented during a special ceremony later in the year.

Last year United Nations secretary-general Ban Ki-moon received the award, in person, for his role on climate change, a new development agenda and the response to conflicts and natural disasters.

Some of the previous winners of the Tipperary International Peace Award have included Live Aid organiser Sir Bob Geldof (1985), Mikhail Gorbachev (1988), South African president Nelson Mandela (1989), U.S. President Bill Clinton (2000) and Pakistani Nobel laureate & schoolgirl Malala Yousafzai (2012); to name but a few.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




4 × 2 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.