Thurles CBS Deny Rochestown In Harty Cup Final

Thurles CBS (Tipperary) 2-12 (18 pts)  – St Francis College, Rochestown (Cork) 1-12 (15 pts)

In front of close to 2,000 spectators and following a six year gap, Thurles CBS have claimed back the Dr Harty Cup for an eighth time.  Playing in Mallow Co. Cork this afternoon, Thurles killed off their rivals St Francis College, Rochestown and the latter’s dream of a first Harty decider.

Doubtless it was Billy McCarthy, the Thurles Sarsfields midfielder, who truly inspired Thurles CBS to Harty Cup glory, scoring a first half goal and a further two late, but nevertheless, crucial points.

Trailing by just one point and with only 11 minutes remaining, Thurles landed four in a row to re-capture for the eight time this much coveted piece of silverware.

Harty 2015

Thurles CBS Harty Cup Winners – Picture Courtesy J. O’Loughlin

In the first half, goals from K. Duggan and B. McCarthy were crucial to this latest Harty Cup success for Thurles, who led by 2-7 to 1-6 at the midway point.  Robbie Long was unlucky not to have raised the stakes for Thurles five minutes before the break, however his attempt was thwarted by Andrew Cullinane, granting the former instead just one point from the latter’s rebound.

Despite playing against the breeze for the second half, Rochestown did managed to rally from being four points down at half-time to draw level by the 44th minute and with just eleven minutes remaining, Rochestown were indeed a point ahead, thanks to their leading scorer, Ciaran Cormack, latter who landed a free to establish a 1-12 (15 pts) to 2-8 (14 pts) lead, over a desperately hard working and determined Thurles outfit.

However two points from Billy McCarthy granted Thurles the whip hand once more and supported by further scores from Kevin Duggan and Michael Connors, a determined Thurles team ensured their finishing score with four unanswered points.

Thurles, were to lose their free-taker Niall Heffernan to a second yellow card offence at the death, but Thurles had put in enough work by then to ensure their coveted prize.

Scorers for Thurles CBS: B. McCarthy 1-2 (5 pts), K. Duggan 1-1 (4 pts) N. Heffernan 0-4 (4 pts), R. Long 0-2 (2 pts), with P. Kennedy, R. Teehan and M. Connors at 0-1 (1 pt) each.

Thurles CBS Team: W. Tierney, D. Quirke, E. Heffernan, J, Derby, T. Hayes, J. Skehan, C. McCullagh, B. McCarthy, C. Moloney, N. Heffernan, K. Duggan, P. Kennedy, J. Butler, R. Teehan and  R. Long.

Substitutes: M. Connors for J. Butler and R. Purcell for C. Moloney.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




4 + twenty =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.