Thurles People Of The Year Awards 2013

Previous winners of Thurles Credit Union Awards pictured with TCC President Mr DJ Darcy.

Previous winners of Thurles Credit Union Awards pictured with TCC President Mr DJ Darcy.

Thurles Credit Union is proud to announce the launch of the “People of the Year Awards 2013.” This annual event aims to officially acknowledge the outstanding voluntary contributions made by individuals and groups in Thurles, Urlingford, Killenaule and surrounding areas.

The awards were first established in 1993, to recognise the unsung heroes in the local community and provide a platform to celebrate stories of courage, triumph and selflessness.

Thurles Credit Union, a community based financial organisation founded and governed by a voluntary board of directors, is well placed to recognise the outstanding voluntary work of these unsung heroes within our local community.

Each year, members of the public are called upon to nominate people who have genuinely enhanced the quality of life of their friends and neighbours, increased civic pride, or through acts of bravery have touched the lives of their community.

Nominations for the People of the Year awards are not confined to members of the credit union, but instead are extended to the entire community. All local clubs and organisations are encouraged to nominate worthy individuals within their ranks.

The Annual Thurles Credit Union Awards will include:-

People of the Year Awards.

Latter bestowed on a number of individuals for their extraordinary achievement in areas that include Arts, Culture, Sport, Community and Older Persons.

Life Time Achievement Award

Latter bestowed on an individual for long service, in a voluntary capacity, to his/her local club or other organisation.

Young Person of the Year Award

Latter awarded for extraordinary achievements made by a young person aged 21 years or under.

Nominations: To nominate an individual for these awards, simply complete an application form, which is only available at Credit Union offices in Thurles, Killenaule and Urlingford.

Note: The closing date for such applications is Friday 1st March 2013 & winners will be selected by an independent panel of adjudicators and honoured at a formal function on Saturday 6th April next.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




9 − 1 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.