Local Weather

Failure notice from provider:
Connection Error:http_request_failed


Thurles Sarsfields AIB Munster Club SHC Winners 2012

Thurles Sarsfields are AIB Munster Club SHC winners for the very first time, having beaten De La Salle in a keenly-fought, hugely enjoyable contest, which saw Thurles take revenge on De La Salle for their previous 0-9 to 0-8 defeat in 2010, at the same venue Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Paddy McCormack denies De La Salle a most certain goal in the second half.  (Photo J O’Loughlin.)

Not surprisingly Thurles were extremely hungry, given they were chasing their first ever title and a chance to get their mitts on the O’Neill Cup.

It was undoubtedly Jim Corbett’s fifth-minute goal which set Thurles on their way to this most memorable 1-21 to 1-16 victory, which would see Thurles led by two points after a hard fought first half, and then stretch to a five point lead by the final whistle.

De La Salle, demonstrated their real ability to do battle, bouncing back from a five points deficit midway through the first half, thanks to Nevin, who now left them just two points in arrears, but the sending-off of John Keane in the 27th minute sealed De La Salle’s ability to ever forge ahead to close that final gap.

Add to this the team quality of Sarsfields hurling and the skill and determination of players like Pa Bourke, Johnny Enright, Richie Ruth, Michael Gleeson, Paddy McCormack, Lar Corbett and second half substitute Ger ‘Redser‘ O’Grady, Thurles was always assured an outright victory.

Thurles Sarsfields are now Munster champions & the next round will see this ‘force to be reckoned with,’ do battle with the Leinster Club Senior Hurling Champions on February 9th 2013.

Thurles Sarsfields Team: – P McCormack, S Maher, K O’Gorman, David Maher, D Kennedy, P Maher, M Cahill, J Enright, M Gleeson, Denis Maher, J Corbett, L Corbett, M O’Brien, P Bourke, A McCormack.
Subs: R Ruth for M O’Brien,  G O’Grady for J Corbett, S Cahill for Gleeson, R Maher for S Maher.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




17 − 4 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.