Sarsfields Win To Face Cork Title Holders

Thurles Sarsfields, the most successful hurling club side here in Tipperary, yesterday reached the last-four of the AIB Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship.

The Tipperary champions now face Cork title holders Sarsfields in a November 11th semi-final.

Yesterday Thurles moved into a 1-07 to 0-05 half-time lead, thanks to a Pa Bourke’s goal from a 20-yard free and Johnny Enright’s free taking skills.

A rather clinical Kilmallock started the second half much more positively, cutting their first half deficit down to just two points. However Lar Corbett, former ‘Hurler of the Year,’ was also on top form, producing a goal around the 43 minutes to uplift the hard fighting Tipperary club side, who would finally finish the game with a score line reading Thurles Sarsfields2-12 (18pts) – Kilmallock 0-15.

THURLES SARSFIELDS: P McCormack, S Maher, K O’Gorman, David Maher, D Kennedy, P Maher, M Cahill, M Gleeson, J Enright, P Bourke, J Corbett, L Corbett, M O’Brien, Denis Maher and A McCormack.

SUBS: B O’Dwyer for S Maher, G O’Grady for J Corbett, J Maher for Enright and R Ruth for A McCormack.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




fourteen + sixteen =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.