Champion Tipperary Hurling Team Unchanged

Thurles Turns To Shades Of Blue & Gold

Here in Thurles there is a “Blue and Gold,” hue dominating the town’s houses and skyline, in quantity never before visually experienced in our counties history. This is as it should be since we field, on Sunday next, a hurling team the likes of which this county has possibly never previously sent to do battle in Croke Park.

The Tipperary Team had their training camp in Fota Island in Cork last weekend and management have now named an unchanged side, from the team that started the semi-final against Dublin, for this Sundays All-Ireland hurling final.

Although much rumoured, the decision by manager Declan Ryan and his selectors to not include Brendan Maher, latter Young Hurler of the Year in 2010, is seen possibly as something of a disappointment.  Although Maher had appeared to be fully recovered, following his ankle injury, reports on his form in training have been somewhat mixed. Earlier speculation believed that Maher would replace either John O’Keeffe at wing back or Séamus Callanan, whom he replaced in the Dublin semi-final.

While there are no changes in personnel, there is one positional switch, with Seamus Callanan moving to number 10 and Noel McGrath taking on the number 11 position.

The choosen 15 are as follows:-
1. Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange). 2. Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh). 3. Paul Curran (Mullinahone). 4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields). 5. John O’Keeffe (Clonoulty Rossmore). 6. Conor O’Mahony (Newport). 7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields). 8. Gearóid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons). 9. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch). 10. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch). 11. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney). 12. Patrick Maher (Lorrha & Dorrha). 13. Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone Captain).  14. John O’Brien (Toomevara). 15. Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields).

We wish you all the best of luck lads and remain fully confident that, come what may, as usual you will do your county proud.

Kilkenny will name their contenders this Friday.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




two × 3 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.