GAA Football Minor Championship Semi-Final

Tipperary have powered through to their first All-Ireland minor football final since 1984 despite playing the last 10 minutes without their star midfielder Ian Fahey.

David Power’s men, who have already seen off Kerry and Cork to win Munster are deservedly through to the final, with another powerful display against Roscommon, at Croke Park yesterday, which has surely upset the form books.

Tipperary started the brighter of the two teams and raced into an early three-point lead. Points from TJ Ryan and two from midfielder Fahey gave the Premier County a great start.

With a 0-4 to 0-1 lead inside eight minutes and a 0-7 to 0-2 point lead after 25 minutes, Roscommon struggled to deal with the strength of this determined Tipp challenge lead in particular by O’Brien, Fahey, O’Riordan and Quirke.

Evan Comerford’s excellent save against Kevin Finn, spoiled Roscommon’s goal chances and while Thomas Corcoran landed a crucial 45 and Enda Smith added a fine point, Roscommon’s revival was nervous and short lived.
Starting the second half with 0-8 to 0-4 point lead Tipperary got off to the perfect start, when the throw-in saw Ian Fahey race inside and slip a classic pass to Michael Quinlivan, who easily found the net. This Quinlivan goal would prove costly for Ross Shannon’s men who would never to claw their way back.

Roscommon however did respond through their wing back Conor Daly and in the 51st minute the Premier county’s Ian Fahey was dismissed to the sideline, on his second yellow card, following an altercation with Shane Carty.

Despite this setback, Tipp remained unmoved and lead by captain Liam McGrath, impressively continued to limit Roscommon’s scoring chances with Tipperary corner-back Niall O’Sullivan making a particularly vital interception, to cut out Roscommon’s attempts at any final assault.

The Premier County is now a serious rising force in GAA football and their work rate this year can surely never be attributed to just luck or indeed fate.

Tipperary Scorers: M Quinlivan 1-1, I Fahey 0-3 (0-1f), C O’Riordan 0-2, S O’Brien 0-1, TJ Ryan 0-1,G Henry 0-1, L McGrath 0-1, C Kennedy 0-1.
Roscommon Scorers: L Conlon 0-3, D Smith 0-3 (0-2f), C Daly 0-2, T Corcoran 0-1, F Kelly, E Smith 0-1, M Gunning 0-1.

Tipperary Team: E Comerford, N O’Sullivan, J Meagher, C O’Sullivan, C O’Riordan , D Fitzelle, S Kennedy, S O’Brien, I Fahey, G Henry, P Quirke, B Maher, L McGrath , M Quinlivan, TJ Ryan .

Subs: J McGrath for Quirke (37 mins), J Lonergan for Henry (54 mins), C Kennedy (0-1) for TJ Ryan (55 mins), T Kirwan for S O’Brien (62 mins).

Final Score: Tipperary 1-11 Roscommon 0-12


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




14 + ten =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.