Tipperary Atone Against Cork In Munster SHC

Yesterdays magnificent display by Tipperary against Cork, in front of 31,231 spectators, showed why The Premier County are All-Ireland champions.

Tipperary came through a gripping Munster SHC quarter-final against old rivals Cork at Semple Stadium this afternoon, atoning for last year’s ten-point embarrassing championship defeat against the Rebel County.

A remarkable second half saw Cork come from seven points down at half time to draw level, before Tipperary pulled away again, thanks in no small measure to substitute Benny Dunne’s goal four minutes from the end of normal time.
Tipperary led by 2-11 to 0-10 at the interval, as last years ‘Hurler of the Year ‘ Lar Corbett and team captain Eoin Kelly struck for goals minutes before the half way mark, aided by no fewer than six of Tipperary’s starting forwards who also registering their mark on the score board.

The second half saw the Rebels take control of mid field and haul themselves level with a run of seven unanswered points, levelling the score, but despite Cork having advantage of the wind, Lar Corbett managed an inspirational point, to again restore Tipperary’s momentary lost half time advantage.

In past matches Tipperary have sometimes appeared to loose steam in the closing minutes of play, but today the Premier County truly turned on the style closing the game with four fine scores, two from Seamus Callanan, who was playing his first competitive match of this year, following a broken collarbone.

Final Score: Tipperary 3-22 –  Cork 0-23

Tipperary Scorers were: E Kelly 1-7, L Corbett 1-2, S Callanan 0-5, N McGrath 0-4, B Dunne 1-0, J O’Brien 0-2, P. Maher 0-1 and  J. Woodlock 0-1.

Tipp Team: B Cummins; P. Stapleton, P. Curran, M. Cahill, D. Young, Padraic Maher, J. O’Keeffe; G. Ryan, S. McGrath, S. Callanan, N. McGrath, Patrick Maher, E. Kelly, J. O’Brien, L. Corbett.

Subs: P. Bourke for G. Ryan, J. Woodlock for S. McGrath, C. O’Mahony for D.Young , B. Dunne for J.O’Brien.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




1 × one =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.