Thurles Golf Club Ladies Declared All Ireland Champions

Thurles Ladies All Ireland Champs

Huge celebrations in Thurles Golf Club last Sunday night following the Miele Ireland Inter Club Ladies Fourball Team were declared 2010 All-Ireland Champions.

Thurles beat Milltown and The Heath beat Rockmount in the final and third place play offs of the Championship at Glasson Golf Club, near Athlone, Co Westmeath.

Thurles 2-2 Milltown (Thurles win on countback)

Jacueline Corbett (11) and Mary Coman O’Neill (14) lost to Deirdre Walsh (2),and Mary Rose Binchy (19) 2 and 1.
Rose Maloney (12) and Margaret Lonergan (14) lost to Aileen Dawson (8) and Dorothy MacCann (16) 2 and 1.
Orla McKevitt (10) and Fionnuala Corcoran (17) beat Penny Gleeson (7) and Eithne Gogan (17) 20th
Marian Finn (8) and Susan Troy (25) beat Maeve Whelan (10) and Emer O’Donoghue (16) 6/4

This victorious team under the management of Joan Butler and Joan Purcell, had previously seen off teams from Nenagh, Templemore, Carrick-on-Suir, Castletroy and Youghal to win the Southern Region Pennant and their place in the All-Ireland Semi Finals at Glasson Golf Club.

The team had emerged from a starting field of 220 Clubs and Society’s to win this, first ever, ladies All-Ireland title in Thurles Golf Club’s 101 year existence.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




17 − 4 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.