Tipperary Selection For All Ireland SFC First Round Qualifier

Tipperary’s manager John Evans has named his side for tomorrows  All-Ireland SFC first round qualifier at Semple Stadium, Thurles against Laois.

Throw In: 3.30pm – Referee: Michael Collins, Cork.

There are six changes named to the Tipperary starting line-up from the team which started against Kerry in the Munster SFC quarter-final.

Ciaran McDonald and Chris Aylward are both absent from defence, after travelling to America for the rest of the summer, together with Alan Moloney.

Attacker Sean Carey has opted to focus on playing for the Tipperary Under-21 hurlers for the time being.

Matthew O’Donnell will replace Paul Fitzgerald between the posts, while Niall Curran and Brian Mulvihill are absent from the side.

Andrew Morrissey, Brian Jones and Brian Fox come into the Tipperary defence, with Jones and Fox named in the half-back line.

Team Captain Robbie Costigan moves from centre-back to full-back.

Conor Sweeney and Stephen Hahessy  have been added to the attack, with Sweeney stationed at left corner forward and Hahessy named at right half-forward.

Starting Team:  Matthew O’Donnell (Killenaule), Paddy Codd (Killenaule), Robbie Costigan (Cahir – Captain), Andrew Morrissey (Galtee Rovers), Ciaran McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Brian Jones (Arravale Rovers), Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty), George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers), Kevin Mulryan (J. K. Brackens), Stephen Hahessy (Carrick Swan), Hugh Coghlan (St. Vincents), Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers), Philip Austin (Borrisokane), Barry Grogan (Aherlow), Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen).


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




3 × four =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.