Thurles CBS Third Time Unlucky

Yesterday the much anticipated second replay of the Dr Harty Cup final, between champions Thurles CBS and  Ardscoil Ris,  took place in McDonagh Park, Nenagh, at 2.30pm.

The final result saw Árdscoil Rís bring Limerick’s 17-year search for the Dr. Harty Cup title to an end when they saw off  the defending Munster and All-Ireland champions, with a massive ten points to spare.

Ardscoil Ris now have become the first Limerick team, since the Sexton Street CBS in 1993, to win the trophy and Thurles must  quickly regroup for next Monday’s All-Ireland quarter-final showdown with Kilkenny CBS.

After two previous epic encounters finished level, yet another big crowd arrived in Nenagh for part three of this saga, with an official attendance of almost 2,000 and with  U-16s  admitted free of charge.

Ardscoil Ris got off to a flying start when Niall Kennedy’s  long-range shot found its way into the net in just the third minute of play.
Goals from Kevin Downes and Brendan O’Connor helped Árdscoil Rís into a 2-7 to 0-8 interval lead before Mark Ryan’s second half three-pointer sent the Limerick school well on its way to victory.
CBS came roaring back with a succession of four unanswered points before half-time to cut the  lead to 0-8 to 2-7, however with the wind advantage yet to play it was not to be their day this year.

Pat Ralph slotted over three points from midfield for the Thurles camp, but while they had scoring contributions from six other players, no fewer than nine Ardscoil Ris players found their intended targets.

Final result – Ardscoil Rís 3-15 – Thurles CBS 0-14.

Pictures courtesy J.O’Loughlin.

Meanwhile, Tipperary Senior’s have named their team to play Galway in Sunday’s Allianz GAA Hurling National League Division 1 clash in Thurles.

Tipperary have made four changes from the side which defeated Kilkenny last weekend.

Paddy Stapleton, Michael Cahill, Seamus Hennessy and Jody Brennan come in to replace Paul Curran, Thomas Stapleton, Benny Dunne and Micheál Webster.

The fifteen Tipperary squad to play Galway on Sunday in Thurles is as follows

Brendan Cummins, Paddy Stapleton, Padraic Maher, Brendan Maher, Declan Fanning, Conor O’Mahony, Shane Maher, Michael Cahill, Shane McGrath, Seamus Hennessy, Jody Brennan, John O’Brien, Eoin Kelly(captain) Lar Corbett, Noel McGrath.

Throw-in is set for 2.30pm.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




two × 5 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.