Thurles Edge Out St.Flannans In Dr Harty Cup

CBS Harty Cup Team 2010

Thurles CBS, last year All-Ireland champions, won a titanic battle against their arch-rivals St Flannan’s at Claughaun.
Thurles CBS held out for a thrilling one-point victory in a superb Harty Cup quarter-final clash before a huge crowd.

St Flannan’s,who last won the title back in 2005 when they defeated Thurles, served notice of their intent early on in the game, taking a a five-point lead after just 15 minutes.

However corner-forward Mike O’Brien, Thurles CBS, provided the needed inspiration with a succession of magnificent points which undoubtedly broke the Flannan’s challenge in the second half.

Scorers for Thurles CBS were: A McCormack 0-6 (0-3 frees); M O’Brien, D Devane, D Maher (0-2 frees) 0-3 each; P Dunne, P Ralph 0-1 each.

Thurles CBS Team: A Stapleton; S Maher, C Carroll, A Power; C. Barrett, D Maher, P Dunne; J Meagher, D Corbett; P Ralph, P Looby, J Bergin; A McCormack, D Devane, M O’Brien.
Subs: J Burke for Power; T Doyle for Corbett; C Treacy for Bergin; N O’Brien for Looby .

Final Score: Thurles CBS 0-17 St Flannan’s 2-10.

Photo courtesy John O’Loughlin.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




seventeen + 14 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.