Tipperary 6-19 Limerick 2-07

TippTipperary made the perfect start to booking their well deserved place in the All Ireland Hurling Final against three in a row Kilkenny, when forward Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone) found the back of the goal, punishing a slip by Limerick’s Stephen Lucey. This action was quickly followed by a point from John O’Brien (Toomevara) who got the first point of the match, again for Tipperary.

Nine minutes passed before Limerick introduced themselves onto the scoreboard with a point delivered courtesy of David Breen. Captain Conor O’Mahony(Newport) and Eoin Kelly extended Tipperary’s lead, opening up a commanding 3-6 to 0-2 lead with just 25 minutes of the game played.

Despondent Limerick spectators were briefly offered a glimmer of hope when goalkeeper Brian Murray stepped up to convert a 47th minute penalty to make the score 3-13 to 1-4. However, any hopes of a comeback were soon to be dashed twelve minutes later when Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney) combining with Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields), found the goal again for the Premier County.

Brian O’Sullivan and Conor O’Mahony scored late consolation points for Limerick but it made little difference to the balance on the scoreboard, as Tipperary ensured their place in the 2009 All Ireland final to be contested at Croke Park on September 6th next.

In total Tipperary hammered home six goals as they destroyed a completely outclassed Limerick side to seal the most comprehensive of victories.  At the full time mark, the scoreboard read 6-19 to 2-7 in favour of Tipperary leaving a dejected Limerick to face the inevitable post-mortem.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




five × 1 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.