Department Of Agriculture Puts Tipperary Under The Axe

Dept-AgriForty-two local Department of Agriculture offices are to be abolished in the most drastic re-organisation in the history of the Agri service, as part of cost cutting measures.

County Tipperary will lose four offices and twelve other Irish counties will be without a local centre. Thurles.Info understands that this plan has been given the green light by the present Government.

Location Of Enhanced offices

Enhanced offices will now be located in Cork (Cork City and Clonakilty), Kerry (Tralee), Limerick (Raheen), Waterford (Waterford City), Tipperary (Tipperary town), Wexford (Enniscorthy), Offaly (Tullamore), Meath (Navan), Kildare (Naas), Cavan (Cavan town), Leitrim (Drumshanbo), Donegal (Raphoe), Galway (Galway City) Mayo (Castlebar), and Roscommon (Roscommon town).

Location of intended closures

The offices targeted for closure in Tipperary are:  Thurles, Clonmel, Cahir, and Nenagh, while offices in  Dungarvan, Waterford Forestry Service, Sligo, Athlone, Mullingar, Baltinglass, Wicklow town, Birr, Monaghan town, Drogheda, Ballina, Claremorris, Letterkenny (two), Glenties, Donegal town, Carlow town (two), Ennis (two), Cork City (two), Mallow, Skibbereen, Tallaght, Loughrea, Tuam, Athenry, Killarney, Castleisland, Naas (Sallins Road office), Kilkenny, Portlaoise, Carrick-on-Shannon, Longford town and Dundalk will also be closed.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




2 + 1 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.