May 2015
« Apr    

Support Us

Help keep online and free of ads by donating below. Thank you.

We Support

Death Of Mary Hourihan Thurles

With Sincere Sympathy

With Sincere Sympathy

It is with great sadness we learned yesterday (Monday 27th April 2015) of the death of Mrs Mary Hourihan (nee O’Donnell), Mathew Avenue, Thurles and formerly of Durrus, Bantry, Co Cork.

Mrs Hourihan died peacefully, in the tender care of the staff at Bantry General Hospital, surrounded by her loving family.

Predeceased by her husband John, (May 28th, 2014), Mrs Hourihan’s passing is deeply regretted by her loving daughters Geraldine (Mullins) and Mary (Downes), sons William, Peter and Michael, sister Kay, sisters-in-law Audrey, Irmgard, Sheila and Angela, sons-in-law Eddie and Kevin, grandchildren Aislinn, Deirdre, Shane, David, Mary, Síona, Rory, Clare and Rhona, great-grandchildren, nieces, nephews, relatives, her wonderful carers, neighbours and friends.

Funeral Arrangements
Rosary on Tuesday, April 28th at 8.00pm at Coakley’s Funeral Home, Chapel Street, Bantry, West Cork. Mrs Hourihan’s body will later repose at her private residence situated at No.1 Mathew Avenue, Thurles, Co Tipperary on Wednesday April 29th from 5.00pm to 8.00pm.

Her body will arrive at The Cathedral of the Assumption [Map Ref.] on Thursday April 30th at 10.15am for Requiem Mass at 11.00am.  Her burial will take place afterwards in St. Patrick’s Cemetery, Moyne Road, Thurles.

Go ndéana Dia trócaire ar a anam dílis. 

Be Sociable, Share!

SUSI – Student Grant Awarding Authority

img-susi-logoSUSI – Student Grant Awarding Authority Open For Business For Academic Year 2015 / 2016.

Tipperary parents and ‘would be’ 3rd level students should note that SUSI (Student Universal Support Ireland), the online application system charged with awarding grants to students, has announced it is ‘open for business’ for the academic year 2015 to 2016.

SUSI, as stated, is the single national ‘Awarding Authority’ for all new and continuing student grant applications. Keep in mind that applications for ‘Student Grants’ are assessed under a criteria set out in the Student Support Act 2011, Student Support Regulations and the Student Grant Scheme.

Applications are made online and are subject to necessary supporting documentation. This online application system provides you with a quick, user friendly way to apply for your student grant with this year the fourth year of operating this online system. This upcoming academic year SUSI expect to process more than 110,000 student applications, so do set about filling up your siblings application online details early, thus avoiding any future delays.

SUSI are at pains to state that they have introduced a key number of improvements to their operating system, including an earlier application opening date and a redesigned website. You will remember that the system came under much criticism in the past, after it emerged that they had granted some €4m worth of grants to ineligible students during their first year of operation.

Be Sociable, Share!

Death Of Gráinne Butler Thurles

deathIt is with great sadness we learned yesterday (Saturday 25th April 2015) of the death of Gráinne Butler (née Durack), No.34 Ikerrin Court, Thurles and formerly of No.7 Hill View Drive, Thurles, Co. Tipperary.

Mrs Butler passed away peacefully yesterday at the Milford Care Centre, Castletroy, Co. Limerick, surrounded by her loving family.

Mrs Butler’s passing is deeply regretted by her husband Francis, sons Ethan and Félim, sisters Miriam, Patricia, Gabrielle, Stephaine, Ursula, Frances and Tara, brothers Jerome, Liam and Brian, father-in-law Anthony, mother-in-law Kathleen, brothers-in-law, sisters-in-law, aunts, nieces, nephews, relatives and friends.

Mrs Butler’s body reposed this evening from 5.00 pm until 8.00 pm at the Durack family home (No. 7 Hill View Drive). Removal will take place tomorrow morning (Monday) to arrive at the Cathedral of the Assumption [Map Ref.] at 10.15 am for Requiem Mass at 11.00 am.

Interment will take place afterwards in St. Patrick’s Cemetery, Moyne Road, Thurles.
Please Note: Family flowers only, however donations, if desired, to Milford Care Centre.

Go ndéana Dia trócaire ar a anam dílis. 

Be Sociable, Share!

Launch Of Lough Derg Nature Trail

Part of Tipperary's Lough Derg shore line.

Tipperary’s Lough Derg shore line.

The new Lough Derg (On the river Shannon) Nature Trail will be officially launched at a seminar being held at The Workhouse Centre in Portumna, County Galway, next Thursday, April 30th .

This event, which takes place from 10.30am to 1.15pm, will feature presentations by Dr. Alan Mee on the ‘White Tailed Sea Eagles on Lough Derg’, consultant ecologist and writer Dr. Janice Fuller on ‘Going Wild on the Lough Derg Nature Trail’, and Lorcán O’Toole of the ‘Golden Eagle Trust’, on the effectiveness of existing tourism policies for rural communities.

A detailed guide to accompany the Nature Trail will also be launched on the day. Cllr. Michael Fitzgerald, Cathaoirleach, Tipperary County Council, Cllr. Mary Hoade, Cathaoirleach, Galway County Council & Cllr. John Crowe, Cathaoirleach, Clare County Council, will be in attendance.

This seminar is hosted by County Councils representing Tipperary, Clare and Galway, as well as the Heritage Council and Lakelands & Inland Waterways, Ireland.

Be Sociable, Share!

‘Know Your Patch’ – New Tipperary Garda Initiative

Gardaí here in Co. Tipperary will launch a new community policing initiative to be known as Know Your Patchon Monday next (April 27th).  This launch follows on from the Tipperary Divisional Community Policing Seminar, which took place earlier in January of 2015.


Pictured Shows L – R: Chief Superintendent Catherine Kehoe, Garda Annette Connolly and Garda Chris Verling who are all leading with the implementation of new policing initiatives for Thurles Town.

Under this new and welcome initiative, Gardaí in the Tipperary Division will in future be assigned to a specific area in each District and will conduct a leaflet drop to all homes in these assigned community areas.  Same will identify to residents their individual Community Garda member. This assigned Garda member will then in future become the individual point of contact in this area and will be available to assist and engage with residents, should support, crime prevention advice or assistance with initiatives such as ‘Community Alert’, ‘Neighborhood Watch’ and ‘Text Alert’ be required.

Commenting on the launch of ‘Know Your Patch’, the Chief Superintendent of the Tipperary Garda Division Catherine Kehoe stated; “An Garda Síochána in the Tipperary Division recognise and very much appreciate the valuable support and assistance from communities given to An Garda Síochána. As part of our review of our service delivery, incorporated under our Policing Plan 2015, Gardaí in the Tipperary Division intend to further improve service delivery, bringing about greater community engagement and ensuring greater visibility in community areas. I am committed to ensuring that community policing remains a priority for the Tipperary Division and I am looking forward to working closely with the community of Tipperary on a number of initiatives, in order to bring about a greater feeling of overall safety.”

Be Sociable, Share!
Page 6 of 515« First...234567891011...Last »