Local Weather

real feel: 7°C
wind speed: 4 m/s NNW
sunrise: 6:07 am
sunset: 8:52 pm


Local Football Match Abandoned Following Player Injury

 ‘Tipperary Water’ County Under 21 B Football Semi-final between Clonoulty v Portroe abandoned at half-time.

The ‘Tipperary Water’ County Under 21 B GAA football semi-final had to be abandoned yesterday evening, following a serious leg injury to Clonoulty-Rossmore Team Captain Garry Donnelly.

The match against Portroe, being played at Inch ‘The Ragg’, Thurles, Co. Tipperary, saw the Clonoulty-Rossmore lad suffer a suspected broken leg, while in the process of kicking possibly the last point of the first half.

An ambulance was summoned and referee Brian Tyrell, after initial attention to the players condition, blew half-time. The ambulance, from Thurles Ambulance Base, was quickly on the scene and following a speedy examination by the crew, it was decided to transfer the player to hospital, via the Irish Community Air Ambulance service.

Following a discussion by officials it was also mutually agreed by those in attendance, to call off the match.

We wish Mr Donnelly a full and speedy recovery from his accident, in the weeks ahead.


Fascinating Story Of Tipperary’s Paddy McCarthy

Tipp Mid West Radio’s Tom Hurley Reports On ‘The Cashel Pioneer.’

In 1900, an Irishman named Paddy McCarthy arrived in Buenos Aires, the capital city of Argentina. After initially working in the port, he obtained a position as a physical education teacher in a school, but also boxed and became involved in football as a player, coach and referee.

In fact, he competed in what’s considered the country’s first ever professional boxing match and his name is also associated with the foundation of Boca Juniors football club, with some even crediting him for assigning them their trademark blue and gold jerseys, which they still wear today.

Later through his work with the Sports Municipal Committee of Buenos Aires, Paddy McCarthy did much to promote sport especially among the young but is purported to have gone to his grave in 1963 at the age of 92, having revealed little about himself or indeed his time in Ireland. Interestingly however, it is written that he was born on the 17th of March 1871 in Cashel, Co. Tipperary and attended the Christian Brothers School. It has also been suggested that he had the Premier County’s GAA colours very much in mind, when selecting a kit for Boca Juniors.

McCarthy’s fascinating story will now be the subject of a 4-part documentary to be aired on Tipp Mid West Radio, which uncovers more about his time in Argentina and investigates his links to the historic town of Cashel.

It emerges that from around 1850 until the end of the century, Argentina had been a popular destination for Irish emigrants especially from the Midlands, with numerous people from Cashel continuing to make the voyage well into the 1920’s. As a consequence, hurling was one of the sports introduced from abroad, which became increasingly popular.

The documentary has uncovered a lot of new information on Paddy McCarthy and the high regard in which he was held in his adopted homeland. For example, he had the distinction of refereeing the first ever Superclásico, latter the name given to the football derby played between Boca Juniors and River Plate. Boxers he regarded as friends included Babe Herman and Gene Tunney, whilst he is also photographed with the president of Argentina, the Duke of Kent and the Prince of Wales when they visited Buenos Aires in 1931. He was also the recipient of a gift from Theodore Roosevelt.

Interviewees for the programme include Cashel residents Albert Carrie, Seamus King, John O’Connor and Tom Wood.  Noel Blanchfield from Ballyneale who resides in Yonkers, New York outlines how he became intrigued by McCarthy’s story, having first come across his name in the United States. Among the other contributors is academic and historian Edmundo Murray from Buenos Aires, who has conducted the most extensive research on McCarthy to date.

The revealing 4-part documentary entitled ‘The Cashel Pioneer’ by Tom Hurley will be aired over four Wednesdays at 11.05am on Tipp Mid West Radio, beginning on April 19th next. The programmes can be heard outside the county on www.tippmidwestradio.com.


Death Of Michael Maher, Racecourse Road, Thurles

As already reported, it is with a great sadness we learned of the death today, Wednesday 8th March 2017, of Mr Michael Maher, Roselawn, Bawntameena, Racecourse Road, Thurles, Co. Tipperary

Mr Maher passed away peacefully while in the loving care of the Matron and Staff of Ardeen Nursing Home, Abbey Road, Thurles.

His passing is most deeply regretted by his loving wife Margaret; son Kevin; daughters Edel, Claire and Emer; brother Francis; sister Nancy (Hickey); sons-in-law; daughter-in-law; ten grandchildren; brothers-in-law; sister-in-law; nephews; nieces; extended relatives, members of the wider G.A.A fraternity; neighbours and many friends.

Funeral Arrangements
The earthly remains of Mr Maher will repose in Hugh Ryan’s Funeral Home, Slievenamon Road, Thurles on Friday, 10th March, from 5.00pm to 7.00pm, to arrive at the Church of St Joseph and St Brigid, Bothar na Naomh, Thurles at 7.30pm.

Requiem Mass will take place on Saturday, 11th March, at 10.00am. Interment will take place immediately afterwards in Holycross Cemetery, Holycross, Thurles Co. Tipperary,

Note: Family flowers only. Donations, if desired, to Alzheimer Society of Ireland.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam dílis.


Death Announced Of All Ireland Tipperary Hurler Michael Maher

Former Tipperary hurler Mr Michael Maher (born 1930) has passed away at the age of 87, after a long illness. He had been living in a nursing home for some time prior to his death.

Born in Holycross, Thurles, Co. Tipperary, Mr Maher, was, at club level, a three-time Championship Medallist with Holycross-Ballycahill club. He was introduced to the inter-county scene at the age of seventeen, linking up with the Tipperary minor team and later joining the junior side. He made his first senior début in the 1951-52 National League.

Mr Maher would go on to play a key role with Co. Tipperary as part of the so-called “Hell’s Kitchen”, a storied fullback line, containing the legendary John Doyle and celebrated Kieran Carey, winning five All-Ireland medals, six Munster medals and eight National Hurling League medals and was even an All-Ireland runner-up on one occasion.

[Of Course the “Hell’s Kitchen” referred to the players and their often tempestuous nature of exchanges, which greeted any dropping ball, arriving from mid-field in front of the goal area.]

Throughout his career Mr Maher made 30 championship appearances with his retirement announced following the conclusion of the 1966 championship.

Mr Maher won his All-Ireland titles in 1958, 1961, 1962, 1964 and 1965. After retiring as a player, he became the Tipperary County Board chairman and later a selector with the senior team.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam dílis.


Death Of Brenda Fogarty, Thurles, Co. Tipperary

It is with great sadness we learned of the death on Monday 27th February 2017, of Mrs Brenda Fogarty (née Emerson), Thurles, Co. Tipperary and Drumcondra, Co. Dublin.

Beloved wife of the recently deceased professional footballer Ambrose Fogarty (Amby); Mrs Fogarty passed away unexpectedly at her home.

The passing of Mrs Fogarty is most deeply regretted by her loving sons Sean and Donal; daughters Maura & Colette, sons-in-law; daughters-in-law; grandchildren; brother; sister; extended relatives and friends.

A Cremation Service will take place at Glasnevin Crematorium on Saturday next, 4th March, at 12.00 noon.