Historic Hayes Hotel hotel, situated here in Thurles Co Tipperary, where the GAA was first founded, has been sold today at the Allsop Space auction for €650,000.
A solicitor, representing the new purchasers was present to conduct bidding at the auction, however afterwards refused to be drawn by media as to the new clients true identity; stating that the new owner wished to remain anonymous for the time being.
The Hotel in Thurles, went under the hammer initially with a reserve price of a mere €500,000.
Hayes Hotel traded under the name ‘The Star and Garter’ in the 18th Century. The hotel was purchased in the 1830’s by Mr William Boyton and became known as ‘Boyton’s Hotel’. In the 1870’s the hotel was then purchased by Miss Eliza J. Hayes and became known as ‘Hayes’ Commercial and Family Hotel’.
On November 1st, 1884, a group of Irishmen, Michael Cusack, Maurice Davin, John K. Bracken, George McCarthy, P.J. Ryan, John Wise-Power and John McKay gathered in the then hotel’s billiard room, later to be known as the ‘Red Room’ to formulate a plan to establish an organisation to foster and preserve Ireland’s unique games and athletic pastimes. The end result was the foundation one of the world’s greatest amateur associations, the Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA).
Despite going into receivership in April 2013, Hayes’ Hotel today still remains a popular venue for sportsmen, local people and tourists alike.