Tipperary’s Five Representatives In the 2016, 32nd Dáil Chosen

The electorate of the new constituency of Co. Tipperary have now chosen their five TD’s to represent them in the 32nd Dáil.

Two outgoing Fine Gael TD’s, namely Deputy Mr Noel Coonan and Mr Tom Hayes, latter Minister of State at the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine, have both lost their seats.

Minister and Deputy Leader of  the Labour Party, Mr Alan Kelly just about managed to hold his seat in this constituency; elected on the sixth count, without ever reaching a full quota.

Topping all the election results and as expected, was hard working Mr Michael Lowry TD, who for the last 5 General Elections has consistently been returned by his electorate on the first count.

A warm welcome must also go to Co. Tipperary and Thurles town representative Councillor Mr Jackie Cahill. Mr Cahill, a former President of the ICMSA (Irish Creamery Milk Suppliers Association) from 2005 to 2011;  Chairman of Irish Dairy Council from 2011 to date; a Member of Bord Bia and Director of Thurles Greyhound Stadium, will now take up his post as a newly elected TD for Fianna Fáil in Dáil Éireann in March 2016.  Congratulations to Jackie.

Meanwhile, to our Dublin Media; but especially to all of those hundreds of weary canvassers based in Co. Tipperary, (regardless of their political or other affiliations), operating in the name of ‘Democracy’; well done and in the words of singer / songwriter Bruce Springsteen:- [Take your own interpretation from this song!]

“I been knocking on the door that holds the throne. I been looking for the map that leads me home
I been stumbling on good hearts turned to stone. The road of good intentions has gone dry as a bone.
We take care of our own, We take care of our own.”

We are reminded of Winston Churchill’s reflection when he wrote in June 2007: “We are made to ask what it is that political democracy gives us. The system is utilitarian, (Meaning: the best moral action for rational choice), but is it a fit object of faith and hope?”

The new 32nd Dáil government representatives chosen, may possibly give us an answer to this much debated question.

Where Tipperary leads, Ireland follows.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




20 − nine =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.