Local Weather

Failure notice from provider:
Connection Error:http_request_failed


Could Pope Francis Be Visiting Tipperary In 2014?

The winner of the 2013 Tipperary International Peace Award will be announced in the coming days with the prestigious annual award being presented here in Co Tipperary in 2104.

Amongst the five 2013 nominees are: His Holiness Pope Francis, (Jorge Mario Bergoglio), former US diplomat Dr Richard Haass, the International Peace Bureau, latter which includes 300 members across 70 countries who are dedicated to the vision of a world without war, Sister Mary Tarcisa Lokot, known for her work in helping to rebuild Northern Uganda and lastly the co-founder of the Taekwondo Peace Corps, Dr Lee Kyu Hyung, who is nominated for his work promoting peace through the martial arts.

The 266th pontiff Pope Francis, whom this month was named Time Magazine person of the year, has been nominated for his humility, his concern for the poor and his commitment to dialogue as a way of bridge building between people of all creeds, faiths and backgrounds.

Dr Haass, who worked over Christmas to broker a peace agreement on current unresolved issues in Northern Ireland, has previously been awarded the US State Department’s Distinguished Service Award.

Previous winners of the Tipperary International Peace Award have included the late Nelson Mandela, the late Senator Gordon Wilson, former Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev, former US President Bill Clinton, former Irish President Professor Mary McAleese and her husband Senator Martin McAleese and last year 16-year-old education activist and Pakistani schoolgirl, Malala Yousafzai.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




twelve + sixteen =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.