Ministerial Retirement Payments Published

Yesterday evening the Department of Finance published a list of Ministerial Retirement Payments, stating how much was returned back to State coffers. These Pensions are paid to politicians who have held posts as ministers in previous cabinets. The total value of ministerial pensions handed out amounted to €4.1m.

The total amount surrendered to date was €178,600, which is equal to 4% of the total amount paid.

The Department of Finance list published reveals the following information:-

Padraig Flynn did not surrender any of his €47,800 pension.
Albert Reynolds did not hand back any of his €99,600 pension.
John O’Donoghue did not surrender any of his €53,000 pension.
Dick Spring did not hand back any of his €71,000 pension.
Former Fine Gael minister Ivan Yates, who successfully filed for bankruptcy in Wales, got a pension of €27,000.
Brian Cowen left office with a total package worth around €310,469, last year, making no voluntary contribution to the State.

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin surrendered all €61,318.
Former junior minister Ivor Callely surrendered €258 of his €11,600 pension.
Maura Geoghegan Quinn
surrendered her entire pension of almost €59,895.
President Michael D Higgins surrendered his full €6,000 pension.
Michael Wood handed back €4,100 of his €64,100 pension.
Former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern surrendered €14,600 of his €83,300 pension, however all included he received payments of €299,454.
Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore surrendered their full pension entitlements of €2,050 and €979, respectively.
Richard Bruton surrendered his entire pension of €1,900.
Former president Mary Robinson received €174,883 (Her combined Presidential and Oireachtas pension) and returned €15,499 to the State.

Former Tánaiste Mary Coughlan received payments totalling €242,131; Former communications minister Noel Dempsey received €297,590; Former justice minister Dermot Ahern received €294,412; Former Arts minister and Thurles native Mary Hanafin received a €282,539, Ex-PD leader & former Tánaiste Mary Harney received €298,893, all paid for by the taxpayer.

In the words of Minister Phil Hogan; “Thank you all for your genuine patriotism.”


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




2 × four =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.