2011 General Election Results For South Tipperary

The constituency of Tipperary South has endured one of the sharpest rises in unemployment in the state since the country’s economic collapse and has now spoken.

Hereunder are the 2011 General Election results for the Constituency of Tipperary South:-

Counts: 5.  Seats Filled: 3.  Turnout: 72.8%.   Electorate: 57,420.   Spoiled Votes: 432.   Valid Votes: 41,361.    Quota:10,341.

Election Results 2011


Healy, Séamus, Independent.  First Preference votes, 8,818.  With transfers final total: 11,265.
Hayes, Tom, Sitting Fine Gael Party. First Preference votes, 8,896.  With transfers final total: 10,463.
McGrath, Mattie, Now Independent and former FF Party.  First Preference votes, 6,074.  With transfers final total: 9,978. (Elected without reaching a full Quota)


Murphy, Michael, Fine Gael Party. First Preference votes, 5,402.  With transfers final total: 7,948.
Mansergh, Martin, Sitting  Fianna Fáil Party. First Preference votes, 5,419.   With transfers final total: 5,948.
Prendergast, Phil, Labour Party. First Preference votes,  4,525.   With transfers final total:  4,966.
Browne, Michael, Sinn Féin Party. First Preference votes, 1,860.  Total: 1,860
McNally, Paul, Green Party.  First Preference votes, 367.  Total: 367.

Electoral results were as forecast by the pundits and Tipperary South has elected no Fianna Fail T.D. for the first time in living memory.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




seven + ten =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.