Winners Of 59th BT Young Scientist Announced.

The winners of 59th BT Young Scientist & Technology Exhibition (BTYSTE) have been announced.

Mr Shane O’Connor and Mr Liam Carew, both aged 19 and in sixth year at The Abbey School, Station Road, Tipperary, have won this years (2023) BT Young Scientist & Technology Exhibition, with their project “Assessing the impact of second-level education on key aspects of adolescents’ life and development”.

Shane O’Connor and Liam Carew being presented their award by Education Minister Ms Norma Foley and BT Managing Director, Mr Shay Walsh.
Picture : BTYSTE Twitter

Their project entailed a three-year study, which covered the years of Covid (2020, 2021 and 2022), assessing students throughout those years in a longitudinal way, on the impacts of Covid, but also on the impacts of school on its students.

Professor Mr Joe Barry (Chairperson of the Social and Behavioural Sciences Group Judging Panel), described the winning entry as an extremely impressive undertaken survey.

As winners of the 2023 BT Young Scientist, Shane and Liam received the BTYSTE perpetual trophy and a prize of €7,500. They will now attend the 64th Annual London International Youth Science Forum this coming summer season.

Our sincere congratulations to pupils, teachers and The Abbey School, Tipperary.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




10 − 10 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.