Sinn Féin Withdraw Recount In Euro Parliament Election

Green Party Sen. Grace O’Sullivan

Sinn Féin have withdrawn their earlier request for a full recount in the recent European Parliament election for Ireland South. Same decision was made following initial recounting of 755,9876 ballots, which began this morning, further indicated that no major ballot anomalies had taken place.

Following the initial count last Thursday, the Sinn Féin MEP, Ms Liadh Ní Riada, stood to lose her seat by some 326 votes, to the Green Party candidate Tramore, Co. Waterford Senator Ms Grace O’Sullivan.

Following a demand by Sinn Féin, it was deemed necessary by the Mr Martin Harvey (Returning Officer) to grant a full recount following a day long recheck of votes which saw Ms Ní Riada gain just a single vote, thus reducing her then deficit from 327 votes to 326.

Ireland South EU Election results now stand as follows:

Fine Gael MEP and former GAA President Mr Sean Kelly topped the poll and was elected on the ninth count, while on the seventeenth count, the former Fianna Fáil Minister Mr Billy Kelleher was elected. Wexford Independent TD Mr Mick Wallace and outgoing Fine Gael MEP Deirdre Clune were both elected without reaching their required quota of 119,866. Ms Ní Riada’s transfers will now decide the alignment of the two remaining seats, that of Ms O’Sullivan and Ms Clune.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




one × 2 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.