Thurles Credit Union People Of The Year Awards

Thurles Credit Union Celebrate 20 Years of People of the Year Awards In 2013

At a most enjoyable function in the Anner Hotel, Thurles, last Saturday night, Thurles Credit Union (TCU) celebrated their twentieth year of sponsoring their annual “The People of the Year Awards.”  Once again five localised “Unsung Heroes,” from Thurles and surrounding areas were both surprised and honoured.

Tom Noone, Thurles, reports on this event.

The People of the Year Awards were set up first in 1993 to honour people who volunteer their services in a wide variety of roles to benefit their neighbours, their clubs or their communities in general. Among those to be recognised for their contributions in the past were Margo Olden, Peg Hanafin, the late Mary Powell, the late Dr. Jim Molony, Gerard O’Brien, Antóin O’Briain and a host of others who have led the way in giving selfless devotion to the community, over a long time and totally in a voluntary capacity.

Thurles Credit Union People of the year winners 2013

Thurles Credit Union People of the year winners 2013

Welcoming the guests, D.J. Darcy, President of Thurles Credit Union stated;

“Thurles Credit Union, which is now in its fifty-second year, is back-boned by committed voluntary workers, and we have always felt that the work of other members of the community in a similar capacity should be publicly acknowledged. In the difficult times in which our country finds itself at present, there is a greater need than ever for people to reach out a helping hand to friend and neighbour alike. The harsh economic climate has placed increased pressure on a wide range of community organisations, with a parallel pressure on many of the less-well off and disadvantaged among us. These pressures can only be eased by people making conscious decisions to help community-based organisations in some way or another. We all have some free time available to us, so we should give serious consideration to playing a role in our community, if we are not already doing so, and tonight we are honouring people who have done just that.”

Mr. Darcy thanked all those involved in organising the Awards ceremony, including committee members and the independent adjudication panel, and confirmed that the Credit Union was happy to continue promoting the Awards into the future.

TCU Awards 2013

Mr Joseph Tynan, Moyne Road, Thurles received a “Lifetime Achievement Award,” for his years of service to the Order of Malta and to Thurles Lions Club.
Mr Seamus Mangan, Brittas Road, Thurles received a “Community Service Award,” for his work with the Special Olympics.
Mr Kevin Kelly, Loughmore, Thurles was similarly honoured with a “Community Service Award,” for his work for the Azerbaijan Orphanage Appeal and the Children’s Hospital in  Crumlin.
Mr John Ryan, Croke Street, Thurles was honoured with a “Community Service Award,” for his lifetime contribution to the Thurles Scout Movement, going back as far as 1948.
Mrs Phyllis Kennedy, Bohernamona Road, Thurles was presented with the “Good Neighbour Award,” for her constant work with the sick and the elderly in her community.

Mr Frank Connolly, a director of Thurles Credit Union was the functions very efficient Master of Ceremonies, ably assisted by TCU Vice-President M/s Amanda Ryan.

The Mayor of Thurles Town Council, Mr Michael Cleary, was this year’s TCU Guest of Honour, for this most successful and enjoyable of annual events.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




nineteen + nine =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.