Tipperary International Peace Award 2012 Nominees Announced

Our former Irish President Mary and her husband Martin, together with former US president Jimmy Carter and Queen Nour Al Hussein of Jordan, have been named among the nominees for this year’s Tipperary International Peace.

The winner of this annual prestigious award will be announced early in January 2012 and will come from a shortlist of six nominees.

Previous recipients of the Tipperary International Peace award have included Bob Geldof, Nelson Mandela, Mikhail Gorbachev, the late US Senator Edward Kennedy and his sister, the former Ambassador to Ireland Jean Kennedy-Smith in 2010 and the 2011 worthy winner, Dr Sima Samar.

The McAleese’s have been nominated for their work in promoting social inclusion, social equality, anti-sectarianism and reconciliation, during Mrs McAleese’s 14 years as the Irish President.

Former US President Jimmy Carter has been nominated for his work with the Carter Centre, which was founded in 1982 to advance human rights.

Queen Nour Al Hussein of Jordan has been nominated for her advances in development, education, women’s rights and the landmine ban, through her Noor Al Hussein Foundation.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




three × 2 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.