Tipperary Peace Convention Nominees Named

The Tipperary Peace Convention Committee have named their nominees for the 2011 Tipperary Peace Award.

The Tipperary Peace Award was first founded in 1984, set up to recognise people in Ireland and across the world, who promote the ideals of peace and peaceful co-operation.

Previous recipients include the late former Pakistan prime minister Benazir Bhutto, former South African President Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela, Irish singer, songwriter, author, occasional actor and political activist Robert Frederick Zenon “Bob” Geldof, KBE, and former 42nd US President William Jefferson “Bill” ClintonClinton.

Amongst this years nominees are former president and  ex-United Nations High Commissioner Mrs Mary Robinson, the Burmese pro-democracy leader, Aung San Suu Kyi, who has been recently released from detention, chairman of the Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission and United Nations Special Rapporteur, Dr Sima Samar and the Taiwanese Buddhist nun Cheng Yen.  Also shortlisted  are the the head of the United Nations Relief and Works Agency in Gaza John Ging and the prime minister of Zimbabwe Morgan Tsvangirai.

The Tipperary Peace Convention Committee are expected to consider the nominees over the coming weeks and the winner will be  announced on New Year’s Day.

Last year’s winners were the late Senator Ted Kennedy and his sister Jean Kennedy Smith, latter former US ambassador to Ireland.

The 2010 award will be presented, as usual, at a special ceremony in Tipperary town, on a date to be agreed early in the new year.


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




three × 4 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.