The Thurles 2014 St. Patrick’s Day parade will take place on Sunday next March 16th, beginning at 2.45pm from Abbey Road, here in Thurles.
One of this year’s special attractions will be a Reptilian Zoo which will set up shop in Liberty Square, offering a great opportunity for both adults and children to view just some of Mother Nature’s mini monsters and cold blooded creatures.
This year’s parade promises six marching bands, together with many talented local traditional music bands. Expect the usual colourful variety of floats of all sizes; all depicting themes of a political, comical, and historical nature. Lovingly restored Vintage Vehicles of all descriptions will once again go on display, bringing that sense of lost nostalgia to the more elderly in our midst.
Free face painting will also be available for younger spectators, while the ever favourite Bob the Builder, in person I might add, together with other friends will be on hand to entertain the usual large crowds, as they begin to assemble in the centre of Liberty Square.
Note: All parking in Liberty Square will be restricted from 11.00am to 5.00pm leaving Liberty Square closed to all vehicle parking from 2.00pm to approximately 6.00pm.
Warning: In the interest of Health and Safety, Gardaí and Stewards will be on hand to regulate traffic and crowd control, but do remember if you are a spectator and particularly those of you in charge of children, please try to remain behind the safety barriers provided, at all times during this most enjoyable of Tipperary events.
The Lár na Páirce GAA Museum, located in Thurles town, latter the birthplace of the GAA, is home to Ireland’s first and oldest collection of Gaelic Games sporting heritage and to be brutally honest if you have not visited this venue at least once since it opened in 1994, regardless of which Irish county you support, you are not really a true dedicated and passionate GAA fan.
Our video hereunder shows just a sample of some of the delights that this venue, at Slievenamon Road, Thurles, has to offer.
(Video courtesy Ursuline Convent, Thurles, Transition Year Students 2013/14 – Photographic Project.)
Recently refurbished, Lár na Páirce GAA Museum houses an impressive collection of memorabilia by any standards – including hurleys, footballs, jerseys, trophies, medals, programmes, publications and banners – which brings to life the development of Gaelic Games from ancient times to the present day as well as showing its unique role in Irish history.
Same is part of what we are, a valuable and treasured expression of our heritage – a storehouse of the culture and traditions of our most popular national pastimes. The venue now features a state of the art audio-visual system to enhance the visitor’s experience at key points throughout the tour.
Lár na Páirce is now a multi-faceted, sophisticated, fully automated experience with the centre-piece of the museum remaining the rare Sam Melbourne collection and is, as our video shows, visited daily by schools at all levels, together with Retirement Groups and visitors from every country under the sun.
The Sam Melbourne Collection
The late Mr Sam Melbourne, a native of Horse & Jockey, Thurles, started collecting GAA material in the 1930s. In 1989, Tipperary GAA Board purchased this unique collection and gave it a permanent home at Lár na Páirce. Over the years the collection had grown in importance and size and remains a unique experience for the visitor.
Museum Site: Lár na Páirce GAA Museum is located at Slievenamon Road, close to the junction with Liberty Square, in the Thurles town centre and for more information on this “state of the art” visitor attraction visit Treasures In Lár Na Páirce Museum.
Sanction has been granted for 400 new recruits to enter the Irish Defence Forces. Latter will return the Army, Navy and Air Corps back up to 9,500 personnel.
Irish Defence Minister Mr Alan Shatter has confirmed that recruitment will begin immediately and he aims to ensure the Defence Forces retain the maximum flexibility to undertake, in particular, challenging overseas missions.
Currently Irish troops are engaged in major missions abroad i.e. Lebanon and Syria and Ireland has military commitments in some 14 other different countries, the greatest ever level of international operations.
The new 400 recruit intake will be further supplemented by some 500 new recruits for inclusion in the Reserve Defence Forces.
This recruitment campaign has already been uploaded on the Defence Forces website, following recent re-organisation and retirements and online application forms are available, however no salary is disclosed.
The selection process is expected to begin within five weeks time.
The new Tipperary film “The Minnitts of Anabeg,” will receive a screening at the Source Arts Centre, Thurles, this day week, on Thursday, March 13th beginning at 8.00pm sharp.
(Click on image left for larger image of poster.)
This excellent film production (Writer/Director Alan Brown, UK/Ireland, 2013, 105 mins) was made on a micro budget and filmed around Nenagh and Thurles, here in Co Tipperary, using localised and very talented actors from amateur drama groups representing Nenagh Players and our own much enjoyed award winning Thurles Drama Group.
The film “The Minnitts of Anabeg,” tells the true and factual story of the Minnitt family and the generations who lived in Anabeg house near Nenagh, from the 1600′s to the early 1900′s. The Film focuses in particular on one Joshua Minnitt, latter a prominent landowner living around the period of the Great Famine era (1845 -1849) and his assistance in helping the local impoverished community through that tragic, black period in our Irish history.
While managing to greatly assist and save a community, Joshua Minnitt failed however to save his own family. His only son against his wishes married a local Catholic girl resulting in the former being disinherited.
The film’s factual storyline however is not just a tale dominated by religious bigotry, but is also an account of a family torn apart by politics and power.
The soundtrack for this film was written by Roscrea music composer Thersa Larkin, while the original Anabeg House building was used as the film’s main location. Other scenes were filmed at locations here in Thurles, at St Mary’s Famine Museum and at Nenagh Convent, latter which still has a laundry room from the days of the old workhouse regime.
Tickets: Tickets for this Thurles screening of a Tipperary based production cost just €10/€8 conc. available from The Source – Tel: (0504) 90204.
This is a must see event for lovers of real romance, drama, history and in particular Tipperary history, not to mention real local Tipperary talent performing on screen.
DVD: A limited edition DVD will also be available to purchase on the night.
With Sincere Sympathy
The funeral will take place of the late Mrs Mary Shanahan (nee Max), “Cluaindara“, Monadreen, Thurles, Co. Tipperary, on Thursday morning next.
Her body will repose at her residence tomorrow Wednesday from 5.00pm. Her removal will take place at 10.15am from her home, arriving at the Cathedral of the Assumption for Requiem Mass at 11.00am on Thursday morning next.
Following Mass, her interment will take place afterwards in St. Patrick’s Cemetery, situated on the Moyne Road, east of Thurles.
Note: Flowers and donations, if desired, to the Irish Heart Foundation or the Trócaire Lenten Campaign.
Mrs Shanahan, aged 73, a retired and much loved and highly respected Primary Schoolteacher, was predeceased by her husband the late Mr Dick Shanahan. Mrs Shanahan lost her life, unexpectedly, following a road traffic accident near Two-Mile-Borris, Thurles, yesterday afternoon.
The deepest sympathies of the people of Thurles are today very much with her loving family; daughter Susan, sons Denis and Richard, son-in-law Mark, daughters-in-law Martina and Chiara, her grandchildren Joe and Ronan, brother Jim, sister Bree, sisters-in-law, brothers-in-law, nieces, nephews, relatives, special friend Jojo, her many friends, former students and close acquaintances.
Go ndéana Dia trócaire ar a anam dílis.